Search Results: "Stacey Jay"


BOOK REVIEW

PRINCESS OF THORNS by Stacey Jay
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 9, 2014

"Those able to overlook the incomplete worldbuilding will find the compelling, fully fleshed romance and gems of truth scattered throughout the story satisfying and worth the effort. (Fantasy. 14 & up)"
Exiled warrior-princess Aurora, the Sleeping Beauty's daughter, attempts to save her brother and reclaim her throne. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROMEO REDEEMED by Stacey Jay
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 9, 2012

"The combination of torrid teen romance with space-time travel doesn't save this Shakespearean spinoff. (Paranormal romance. 14 & up)"
The world's most famous teenagers suffer through more convoluted twists and trials in this sequel to Juliet Immortal (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LOCKET by Stacey Jay
FANTASY
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"After another time-turn causes a devastating accident, Katie finally grasps that she can't change the past and she must take charge of her own decisions and relationships, but by then, most readers will be long past caring. (Fiction. YA)"
All Katie Mottola wants—all she's ever wanted—is to be the girlfriend of her first love, varsity-basketball superstar Isaac Tayte. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU ARE SO UNDEAD TO ME by Stacey Jay
FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2009

"Further, the unabashed borrowing from other works—when in danger, the hero experiences a Harry Potter-esque burning sensation in her scar—force comparisons that this uninspired horror-comedy would do better to avoid. (Horror. 13 & up)"
Zombie horror meets high-school drama in this derivative comedy about a girl who yearns for a normal life even as she struggles to master her role as a Settler of the undead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JULIET IMMORTAL by Stacey Jay
FANTASY
Released: Sept. 13, 2011

"An uneven combination of Shakespeare and the supernatural. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
Shakespeare's famous teenage lovers are re-imagined as immortal enemies in this convoluted and occasionally gruesome update of Romeo and Juliet. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SO-CALLED DEATH by Stacey Jay
FANTASY
Released: March 1, 2010

"However, pieces of this story may feel too derivative for some readers—such as the schism at the school between natural and 'deprogrammed' zombies, which closely parallels the Muggle-born versus wizard-born dichotomy of Harry Potter. (Supernatural comedy. 12 & up)"
Peppered with gross-out humor, the camp flows freely in this latest zombie comedy from Jay. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

OF BEAST AND BEAUTY by Stacey Jay
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 23, 2013

"Romance fans may forgive its shortcomings for the sake of the intense love story. (Fantasy/science fiction. 14 & up)"
A hybrid fantasy/science-fiction retelling of "Beauty and the Beast." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THE SECRET'S OUT
by Leila Roy

While there’s no explicit rule against romantic relationships, our colonial ancestor jinxed them in her Last Word: “Beware ye aromateur; lay your traps of love, but do not yourself get caught.” Fall in love and, like Aunt Bryony, lose your supersniffer. It’s why Mother chose my father from a list of donors she got in the mail like a ...

Read the full post >

BLOG POST

UNCOMMON SCENTS
by Jennie K.

BOOK REPORT for The Secret of a Heart Note by Stacey Lee

Cover Story: Behold, The Field In Which I Gather My Scents
BFF Charm: Yay!
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme
Bonus Factors: Gardening, Diversity, Bay Area
Relationship Status: High School Sweetheart

Cover Story: Behold, The Field In Which I Gather My Scents

I’m not ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

EDWARD JAY EPSTEIN
by Clayton Moore

Getting the attention of investigative journalist Edward Jay Epstein (The JFK Assassination Diary, 2013, etc.) is no small feat. Having profiled everyone from Lee Harvey Oswald to CIA chief James Jesus Angleton, Epstein has had a front row seat to the spy game for more than 40 years. So in May, 2013, when NSA contractor Edward Snowden disclosed mass surveillance ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

YA DECEMBER 2016
by Leila Roy

Oh, December. Why must you be so cold, so dark, so withholding when it comes to new book releases? Sigh. Here are the two—I know, right? ONLY TWO!—that I’ve got my eye on:

The Secret of a Heart Note, by Stacey Lee

A contemporary romantic fantasy? IN DECEMBER? Yes, yes, yes, PLEASE. This sounds like EXACTLY what I need ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

7 RECENT TIME TRAVEL NOVELS YOU SHOULD KNOW ABOUT
by John DeNardo

Time travel is one of my favorite science fiction sub-genres. It's a longtime mainstay of science fiction literature, but it also seems to be making a resurgence in television as well. Timeless is a TV show in which a team of travelers attempt to stop a supposed terrorist from changing history by changing the outcome of famous historical events ...


Read the full post >