Search Results: "Stanley Williams"


BOOK REVIEW


"A didactic, moralistic tale for elementary students, with a lighthearted touch."
A moral tale about taking responsibility for one's actions, Not Me is a picture book geared toward elementary students who need an object lesson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SURVIVING GALERAS by Stanley Williams
NON-FICTION
Released: April 17, 2001

"Frightening and fascinating."
An expertly narrated account of natural mayhem, in the tradition of Into Thin Air and The Perfect Storm. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE RAGE, BLACK REDEMPTION by Stanley Tookie Williams
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 13, 2007

"A modern, inspiring companion to such works as Claude Browne's Manchild in the Promised Land and Eldridge Cleaver's Soul on Ice."
Autobiography of the former gang leader and prison activist, executed in 2005. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2015

"A modern apologetic that exuberantly uses the flourishes of memoir."
A lifetime of dissatisfaction with Evangelicalism leads a contrarian Christian intellectual to the Catholic faith in this spiritually focused memoir. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Feb. 1, 2009

"An excellent introduction that will lead older children (and adults) to the music. (author's notes, chronology, bibliography) (Picture book/biography. 6-10)"
At three, Mozart heard his older sister play the clavier and copied her. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOAN OF ARC by Diane Stanley
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Sept. 1, 1998

From Stanley (Rumpelstiltskin's Daughter, 1997, etc.), a sympathetic biography that is also a straightforward affair, captured in gemlike illustrations that feign a Book of Hours touch—though many are drenched in piety—recounting the story of Joan's life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GEORGE MILLS by Stanley Elkin
Released: Oct. 25, 1982

"So, though this 488-page novel is a leaky collection of parts rather than one whole strong book (Elkin is a short-form writer no matter how he's packaged), connoisseurs of comic fiction will consider it required reading: a brilliant set of flags blowing the irrepressible wind of Elkin's fierce, bold comedy."
George Mills, who lives in St. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICHELANGELO by Diane Stanley
BIOGRAPHY
Released: Aug. 31, 2000

"It deserves heavy representation in home, school, and public library collections. (Biography. 9+)"
Stanley is the premier creator of handsome, artistically ambitious, and factually accurate illustrated books that explore and explain the lives and times of major figures throughout history (Joan of Arc, 1998; Leonardo Da Vinci, 1996). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TYGER! TYGER! by Elizabeth Stanley
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2007

"Teachers hoping to use the book as a springboard for class discussion of conservation issues, or as part of an area study, should be warned that some readers may be deeply disturbed. (Picture book. 8-12)"
The development of a Buddhist sanctuary for tigers threatened by poachers in Thailand is presented as a graphically illustrated fable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DELIVERANCE OF DANCING BEARS by Elizabeth Stanley
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2003

"A postscript by the author explains her passion for this issue and provides information on how to join the activism for saving the dancing bears and other abused animals. (Picture book. 4-8)"
An unusual story based on fact carries a richly satisfying message. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LETTICE, THE DANCING RABBIT by Mandy Stanley
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2002

"Let us hope so. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Little Lettice is a pale-gray bunny ballerina who wears pink slippers and a hair bow with sparkly glitter on the cover of this sweet (some might say saccharine) story, its charming illustrations in pretty pastels complemented by perky pink-checked endpapers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MONKEY FOR SALE by Sanna Stanley
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2002

"The observant young reader will detect and enjoy the circular story of trading among the villagers and the inevitable return of the monkey. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In an echo of The Old Woman and Her Pig, an African village market is the scene of several purchases and subsequent rounds of barter initiated by a young girl and her friend. Read full book review >