Search Results: "Stef Choi"


BOOK REVIEW

RUBY LU, STAR OF THE SHOW by Lenore Look
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 8, 2011

"Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Katy Kelly's Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu. (Fiction. 6-10)"
The irrepressible Ruby Lu is back and feeling the effects of the recession. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEF SOTO, TACO QUEEN by Jennifer Torres
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 17, 2017

"Once readers get past the drama, they'll cheer for Stef Soto, her family, and Tía Perla. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Debut novelist Torres delivers a light, touching novel about a seventh-grader, her first-generation family's food truck, and her tribulations at school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHEF ROY CHOI AND THE STREET FOOD REMIX by Jacqueline Briggs Martin
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 16, 2017

"A vibrant, life-affirming tribute to a chef and his city. (authors' notes, illustrator's note, bibliography, resources, biographies) (Picture book/biography. 5-10)"
The third installment in the Food Heroes series presents Roy Choi and the Los Angeles street-food scene. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INVISIBLE ONES by Stef Penney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 5, 2012

"Penney gives her plot plenty of twists and saves the best for the end, with a truly unforeseen and unpredictable conclusion."
Perhaps one of the first novels involving a half-Gypsy as a detective. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NAME JAR by Yangsook Choi
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2001

"The paintings are done in creamy, earth-tone oils and augment the story nicely. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Unhei has just left her Korean homeland and come to America with her parents. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVING IN ITALY: THE REAL DEAL by Stef Smulders
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 25, 2016

"An often funny, if sometimes-meandering, tour of Italian culture."
In this comedic memoir, a Dutch couple moves to the Italian countryside with hopes of opening a bed-and-breakfast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Good-Bye Def Leppard by Stef Kramer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 25, 2008

"A captivating tale about growing up best suited for nostalgic members of Generation X."
In Kramer's debut novel, a middle-aged mother remembers falling into a complicated romance in the early 1990s. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

UNDER A POLE STAR by Stef Penney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 5, 2017

"For a novel about 'blackmail, lies, murder,' it's rather light on the intrigue and heavy on the petting."
A woman attempts to throw off Victorian convention as an explorer—and a lover. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TENDERNESS OF WOLVES by Stef Penney
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 10, 2007

"Winner of the U.K. Costa Book of the Year award for 2006, a striking debut by a writer with tremendous command of language, setting and voice."
British filmmaker Penney sets her intriguing, well-wrought novel in a 19th-century Canadian farming community up-ended by the murder of a lone fur trapper. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEHIND THE MASK by Yangsook Choi
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2006

"A unique look at Halloween, this is a comforting story about death and some of the traditions of Korean culture. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Just before Halloween, while looking through his late grandfather's things, Kimin recalls a time in Korea, when, late at night, he saw his grandfather, his face grotesque and distorted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEACH HEAVEN by Yangsook Choi
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 6, 2005

"Yangsook's vision of peace and harmony mirrors Choi's personal experiences, and her thoughtful main character embodies the same pensive tone found in the soft brownish-greenish peachy palate, making the whole experience one tasty bite. (Picture book. 7-8)"
Yangsook believes that peach orchards in her part of Korea are the best part of Puchon, because a peach garden is a piece of heaven. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NEW CAT by Yangsook Choi
Released: March 8, 1999

"Choi's tale is unique and refreshing in its setting and subject; in the pictures, she mixes soft colored surfaces with hard black lines and abrupt angles to vivid effect. (Picture book. 5-8)"
This may be the first appearance in a US picture book of tofu in a starring role, in a charming solo outing from the illustrator of Milly Lee's Nim and the War Effort (1997). Mr. Kim assigns New Cat the job of patrolling his tofu factory, searching for mice. Read full book review >