Search Results: "Stefan Klein"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 7, 2014

"Tougher-minded readers will prefer Steven Pinker's The Better Angels of Our Nature (2011) and even Prince Kropotkin himself."
A middling look at some of the better angels of our nature by German science writer Klein (Leonardo's Legacy: How Da Vinci Reimagined the World, 2010, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LEONARDO’S LEGACY by Stefan Klein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2010

"This richly illustrated, engrossing account makes a good case that da Vinci was not only ahead of his time but ahead of our own."
A lucid examination of Leonardo da Vinci (1452-1519), emphasizing his immense secret journal. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

TRY SOMETHING NEW: DEBUT SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY NOVELS
by John DeNardo

Are you feeling stuck in a literary rut? Dr. John has the cure!

OK, I confess. I am not an actual doctor, but I do have a tempting selection of notable debut novels that just hit the bookstore shelves. If you're looking for something new, read one of these and call me in the morning...

 

Like a Fly ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

LILLIPUT 5357 by Stefan Czernecki
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2006

"Prepare for repeated readings and I-Spy-type audience participation. (Picture book. 2-6)"
"Bippity Zippity Beep Beep Beep." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WE'RE GOING TO THE FARMERS' MARKET by Stefan Page
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 4, 2014

"The idea for this book is just right for the board-book set, but the art may prove too abstract for youngsters still learning to connect what they find on their plates to what they see on the page. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A trip to the local farmers market provides the ingredients for a feast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE PECULIAR by Stefan Bachmann
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 18, 2012

"A promising, atmospheric fantasy debut. (Fantasy. 10-15)"
Goblins, faeries, gnomes, elflike fay, sylphs, automatons and changelings, oh my! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOBSON’S ISLAND by Stefan Themerson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 26, 2005

"If Richard Feynman, Flann O'Brien, Raymond Queneau and Dario Fo had ever gotten together, it might have been on Hobson's Island."
Power politics and metaphysical paradoxes dominate this free-range comic parable, a 1988 novel by the late (1910-88) Polish-born British author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Sept. 25, 2012

"A devious intimation of homegrown terrors likely to keep readers awake long after closing time has come and gone."
Infidelity, bullying, savage beatings, sororicide, curses, murder and the devil himself all come into play in this quietly savage meditation on evil. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DROP OF NIGHT by Stefan Bachmann
YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 15, 2016

"Bizarre and hugely suspenseful. (Horror. 12-18)"
Seventeen-year-old Anouk accepts an invitation to assist with an academic exploration of a 200-year old underground palace but instead finds herself trapped in an extensive and elaborate set of deadly underground rooms. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 1, 1993

"Timely corporate history—as exciting and poignant as any good tale of derring-do against great odds by all-too-flawed giants. (Forty photographs)"
From veteran Time editor Kanfer (A Summer World, 1989, etc.): an enjoyable history of De Beers, the great business empire that founded a country, helped start a war, and funded the legendary Rhodes scholarships. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Aug. 29, 2012

"A fantastical, appealing blend of barnyard and Hogwarts."
Bolz's (The Dawning of the True Self, 2013) debut YA novel follows one brave adventurer; never mind that he's a rooster who can barely fly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 18, 2015

"Strictly for opera aficionados, a detailed, passionate analysis of what makes tenor singing and its practitioners unique."
A critical look at the evolution of operatic tenor singing, from the 19th century to the present. Read full book review >