Search Results: "Stephanie Anderson"


BOOK REVIEW

SLEEPY BOY by Polly Kanevsky
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: May 1, 2006

"Unusual and captivating. (Picture book. 3-7)"
There is art and craft, both verbal and visual, in this very quiet bedtime story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WEAVING THE RAINBOW by George Ella Lyon
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2004

"The beauty of the pictures and the rhythm of the language will entrance children even if they have never thought about sheep, or weaving at all, and they will come away with a bit of knowledge wrapped around a weft of joy. (Picture book. 5-9)"
Lyon can make lyrical prose out of anything at all: here she recounts the birth, growth, and shearing of a flock of sheep; then the cleaning, spinning, dyeing, and weaving of a tapestry. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOU AND ME AND HOME SWEET HOME by George Ella Lyon
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 20, 2009

"A heartfelt, welcome addition to any collection and a happy fictive complement to David Rubel's If I Had a Hammer (2009), which celebrates Habitat for Humanity. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Owning a home is arguably the American Dream, and children share in it. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS ARE DELICIOUS by Sarah Hutt
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 23, 2016

"A stylish showcase for the artists, but the lack of connection between pictures and plotlines will limit its interest for younger audiences. (Informational board book. 5-7)"
Three food chains at work—at ground level, in the air, and in the ocean. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

IT WAS A PLEASURE TO BURN
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for The Arsonist by Stephanie Oakes

Cover Story: Fire and Water Big Faces
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You x 3
Swoonworthy Scale:
 2
Talky Talk: She Says, He Said, She Said
Bonus Factors:
 Unsolved Mystery, Loyal Pet
Relationship Status: Keeping the Fire Alive

Cover Story: Fire and Water Big Faces

It's rare, but every once in ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

WHEN I AM THROUGH WITH YOU
by Leila Roy

I don’t know. There’s more to say, of course, much more. Two years is a long time in a short life, especially when you’re in high school. But that’s not the Rose anybody wants to read about, is it? Tragedy is infinitely more interesting than bliss. That’s the allure of self-destruction. Or so I’ve found.

When I Am Through ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SUPER BUNNY by Stephanie Blake
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Underwhelming. (Picture book. 3-5)"
Super Bunny wields a pink gun and wears a cape and mask as he sniffs out villains. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE QUIET PIRATE by Stephanie Thatcher
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2016

"Beleaguered introverts may give a hearty cheer, but neither the art nor the writing is particularly seaworthy. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Even if the meek don't end up inheriting the Earth, sometimes they can bag a pirate ship. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TOY FAIRY by Stephanie Thatcher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"A fairy tale that's more morality than magic. (Picture book. 3-6)"
What to do when a boy won't clean his room? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE FOX IN THE FOREST by Stephanie Graegin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2017

"A wordless picture book that makes a great read. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A small child, a fox, and the deep forest: not a grim tale at all but rather a magical journey culminating in an act of mutual kindness. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

MY HEART IS BROKEN, BUT MY RESOLVE IS NOT
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for City of Saints & Thieves by Natalie C. Anderson

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face
BFF Charm: Let Me Love You
Swoonworthy Scale:
 2 - Eleventy Billion
Talky Talk: Switcheroo
Bonus Factor:
 Untold Stories
Relationship Status: Actually, Could You Introduce Me to Your (Nonfiction) Friend?

Cover Story: Obscured Big Face

As stunning – and familiar – as this is ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

STORY COUNTY by Derek Anderson
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2011

"Chicken rocking her eggs to sleep, here's a cheery invitation to children to imagine stories or story stages of their own. (Picture book. 4-6)"
In a fit of metafictional worldbuilding, Farmer and four animals march gaily onto blank pages and proceed in steps to build a barn, pour out brown fields (from a bag of "Instant Farm Field"), plant tall cornstalks and haystacks, erect a scarecrow (a princess, thanks to Miss Cow) and finally paint in an evening sky. Read full book review >