Search Results: "Stephen Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

THE POISONER by Stephen Bates
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2014

"A pleasantly instructive social history."
Sprightly look at the parochial mid-19th-century England that produced an infamous serial poisoner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"While never encumbering his text with ponderous arguments about constitutionality or educational theory, Bates strikes with range and depth at the heart of these issues, crucial for educators and all concerned Americans."
A balanced, well-documented account of a battle recently fought by a handful of Tennessee fundamentalist parents against high-school textbooks. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

THEY FOUND LOVE IN A HOPELESS PLACE
by Mandy Wan

 

BOOK REPORT for Bright Lights, Dark Nights by Stephen Emond

Cover Story: The Heart of the City 
BFF Charm: Big Sister
Swoonworthy Scale:
 5
Talky Talk: Too Close for Comfort
Bonus Factors:
 Illustrations, Music
Anti-Bonus Factor: Internet Trolls
Relationship Status: It's Not You, It's Me

 

Cover Story: The Heart of the City

Seeing as the cover ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

COLD COMFORT by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"More routine than Gunna's debut (Frozen Assets, 2011), but still required reading for anyone who wants a sense of how calamitous Iceland's meltdown was—and what just might be in store for American police procedurals next."
Iceland's financial crisis claims new casualties in venues considerably more homely than banks and corporate offices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIG UMBRELLA by Amy June Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018

"A subtle, deceptively simple book about inclusion, hospitality, and welcoming the 'other.' (Picture book. 3-6)"
Illustrator Bates applies her signature watercolor, gouache, and pencil style to a quiet story about a smiling umbrella, a tale sparked by a conversation with her seventh-grade daughter, co-author Juniper Bates. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY THERE, OWLFACE by Betty Bates
ANIMALS
Released: June 15, 1991

"Still, an easily read story with appealing b&w illustrations and some solid values. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Brad, who lives with his widowed mother on Gramps's midwestern farm, does some significant maturing during the months he observes a pair of barn owls raise their young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OLD PAL, OSCAR by Amy Hest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Hest and Bates' previous joint dog project, The Dog Who Belonged to No One (2008), was a more tender and effective narrative. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Alone at the beach, a black-and-white puppy huddles under the pier until it spots a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1991

"A frequently illuminating study that should prove useful to neophyte reporters—but hardly Pulitzer Prize material. (Eight pages of photographs—not seen.)"
In a thought-provoking, if uneven, exposÇ, Bates, former general news editor of The Seattle Times, uses the stories of three Pulitzer candidates to dissect the Pulitzer mystique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: March 31, 2015

"Intriguing and enchanting, with the rich allusiveness of poetry."
An atmosphere of magical realism surrounds three interrelated short stories about an aberrant elevator, the legend of Icarus, and a girl who can fly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDE-AND-SCARE BEAR by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"Though a bit pat, the book addresses an important social skill for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rambunctious bear thinks it is fun to scare all the other animals. Read full book review >