Search Results: "Stephen Bates"


BOOK REVIEW

THE POISONER by Stephen Bates
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 15, 2014

"A pleasantly instructive social history."
Sprightly look at the parochial mid-19th-century England that produced an infamous serial poisoner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

"While never encumbering his text with ponderous arguments about constitutionality or educational theory, Bates strikes with range and depth at the heart of these issues, crucial for educators and all concerned Americans."
A balanced, well-documented account of a battle recently fought by a handful of Tennessee fundamentalist parents against high-school textbooks. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL BY MYSELF by Ivan Bates
Released: Feb. 29, 2000

BOOK REVIEW

COLD COMFORT by Quentin Bates
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 10, 2012

"More routine than Gunna's debut (Frozen Assets, 2011), but still required reading for anyone who wants a sense of how calamitous Iceland's meltdown was—and what just might be in store for American police procedurals next."
Iceland's financial crisis claims new casualties in venues considerably more homely than banks and corporate offices. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIG TRUCK AND LITTLE TRUCK by Jan Carr
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"The characters, situations, and art hark back to an antique picture-book tradition, but children of any generation will understand Little Truck's feelings. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A small pick-up truck suffers separation anxiety in this tale for fans of Little Toot, Katy, and other animated work machines. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HEY THERE, OWLFACE by Betty Bates
ANIMALS
Released: June 15, 1991

"Still, an easily read story with appealing b&w illustrations and some solid values. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Brad, who lives with his widowed mother on Gramps's midwestern farm, does some significant maturing during the months he observes a pair of barn owls raise their young. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY OLD PAL, OSCAR by Amy Hest
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2016

"Hest and Bates' previous joint dog project, The Dog Who Belonged to No One (2008), was a more tender and effective narrative. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Alone at the beach, a black-and-white puppy huddles under the pier until it spots a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: July 1, 1991

"A frequently illuminating study that should prove useful to neophyte reporters—but hardly Pulitzer Prize material. (Eight pages of photographs—not seen.)"
In a thought-provoking, if uneven, exposÇ, Bates, former general news editor of The Seattle Times, uses the stories of three Pulitzer candidates to dissect the Pulitzer mystique. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HIDE-AND-SCARE BEAR by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 22, 2016

"Though a bit pat, the book addresses an important social skill for the very young. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A rambunctious bear thinks it is fun to scare all the other animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIVE LITTLE DUCKS by Ivan Bates
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2006

"As an excellent storytime read, this will encourage children to quack along—and quite likely, listeners young and old will slip into the song's familiar melody, printed on the final page. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Bates expertly applies full-page soft watercolor-and-pencil illustrations to the classic song. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ELEPHANT'S NEST IN A RHUBARB TREE by H.E. Bates
Released: April 26, 1989

A third collection (A Month by the Lake; A Party for the Girls) of 20 stories, written by the late British writer between 1938 and 1964, that's by turns antic, delicate, and charming. Read full book review >