Search Results: "Stephen C. Bird"


BOOK REVIEW

Hideous Exuberance by Stephen C. Bird
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"Fast-paced, lewd and extremely unconventional short stories that may appeal to fans of Mark Danielewski and David Foster Wallace."
A collection of hyperenergetic, scatological, stream-of-consciousness short stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Any Resemblance To A Coincidence Is Accidental by Stephen C. Bird
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2015

"An offbeat work of carnivalesque proportions, populated by zany, outspoken, and eccentric personalities."
An ambitious book offers an amalgam of opinion, satire, and character sketch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 16, 2012

"This raucous avant-garde comedy will sweep you along with its vigor and originality."
Lurid satirical riffs hold up a fun-house mirror to the world in this fantasia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

C by Tom McCarthy
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2010

"Flawed but fascinating."
An ambitious, epochal second novel from the author of Remainder (2007). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FORMAT C: by Edwin Black
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: May 15, 1999

"Others, perhaps, will not, although Black throughout shows great smarts and at times displays virtuoso rhetoric. (First printing of 50,000; $150,000 ad/promo; author tour)"
Massively conceived, neatly chiseled computer novel that begins on the wrong foot with lists of consumer goods enjoyed by a sybaritic hero only a Honda Del Sol salesman could love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEPHEN SPENDER by John Sutherland
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 2005

"Pays fitting tribute to a man who was as admirable as he was gifted."
An excellent account of the British poet's life, particularly strong on his personality, literary friendships, and political activism. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEPHEN FAIR by Tim Wynne-Jones
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: April 1, 1998

"An intense study in friendship and troubled family relations, in which the steadiest characters are the teenagers. (Fiction. 12-15)"
Recurrent nightmares and a strong feeling that his mother is hiding something haunt a teenager in this ethereal novel from Wynne-Jones (The Maestro, 1996, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEPHEN CRANE by Mark Sufrin
BIOGRAPHY
Released: April 30, 1992

"Bibliography; b&w photos and index not seen. (Biography. 12+)"
An intelligent, beautifully written portrait of ``the first great pyro-technician of the novel, [who] probably wrote more trash than any other serious novelist of his time'' (Alfred Kazin): a strait-laced Methodist minister's rebellious son, who died in 1900, at 28, after a remarkably eventful life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIRD by Beatriz Martin Vidal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2015

"An (av)i(a)nvitation to wonder. (Picture book. 4-7)"
This wordless picture book invites readers to make meaning of its mysterious characters' flights. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEPHEN HAWKING by Kitty Ferguson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 3, 2012

"A fascinating portrait of a complex figure who ponders the place of man and God in the universe and who still loves the 'Eureka moment of discovering something that no one knew before.'"
Ferguson (Pythagoras, 2010, etc.) brilliantly updates her 1991 children's biography of Stephen Hawking for an adult audience. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: Oct. 1, 1991

"B&w photos; graphs and diagrams; full source notes; bibliography; glossary; index. (Nonfiction. 13+)"
Hawking is both a scientific superstar and a man widely admired for overcoming—indeed, all but ignoring—the degenerative muscular disease ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease), which has robbed him of almost all movement but left his mind intact. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STEPHEN CRANE by Paul Sorrentino
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2014

"Sorrentino's authoritative and sympathetic portrait revives a 'bohemian rebel' and prolific, groundbreaking writer."
Thoroughly researched biography of Stephen Crane (1871-1900), who shocked his contemporaries with raw, gritty fiction. Read full book review >