Search Results: "Stephen C. Sutcliffe"


BOOK REVIEW

ATOM by Stephen C. Sutcliffe
Released: Feb. 28, 2002

"An ambitious but awkwardly executed thriller."
In Sutcliffe's debut novel, spoiled rich kids take nuclear Armageddon into their own hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HOP ALONG BOO, TIME FOR BED by Mandy Sutcliffe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"A snooze. (Picture book. 2-4)"
A lullaby sends Belle and her stuffed bunny, Boo, off to sleep. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WHITE HOUSE IS BURNING by Jane Sutcliffe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Elegant and illuminating. (source notes, bibliography, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
A graceful narrative skillfully draws from primary sources to shed light on a key historic day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Any Resemblance To A Coincidence Is Accidental by Stephen C. Bird
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 16, 2015

"An offbeat work of carnivalesque proportions, populated by zany, outspoken, and eccentric personalities."
An ambitious book offers an amalgam of opinion, satire, and character sketch. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 16, 2012

"This raucous avant-garde comedy will sweep you along with its vigor and originality."
Lurid satirical riffs hold up a fun-house mirror to the world in this fantasia. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Hideous Exuberance by Stephen C. Bird
Released: Jan. 31, 2013

"Fast-paced, lewd and extremely unconventional short stories that may appeal to fans of Mark Danielewski and David Foster Wallace."
A collection of hyperenergetic, scatological, stream-of-consciousness short stories. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 15, 1992

"A clear explanation of AIDS as an epidemic, and a forceful presentation of controversial proposals for dealing with it."
A cool, scientific overview of the AIDS epidemic, combined with a passionate defense of his own battle to protect public health, from a former N.Y.C. Health Commissioner. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZUBERT by Charlie Sutcliffe
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"It's a playful, even psychedelic feast for the eyes, but don't get it for the story. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Attendees at a convention of extraterrestrials mingle with equally strange, large-headed children as young Zubert rides with his mother in her van to deliver flowers to the best hotels in London. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WALL by William  Sutcliffe
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 4, 2013

"The book might be effective in a classroom setting; it's likely to be confusing unmediated. (Fiction. 11-13)"
An Israeli settlement in the occupied territories forms the thinly disguised setting of a tale inappropriately introduced with an epigraph from the Gospels. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHATEVER MAKES YOU HAPPY by William  Sutcliffe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2008

"A sweet, funny and refreshingly original look at generational conflict."
London-born author Sutcliffe (Bad Influence, 2004, etc.) takes a look at immature men and the mothers who love them. Read full book review >