Search Results: "Stephen Cave"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 3, 2012

"When death harkens, Cave provides a luminous, mindful taste of the alternatives."
A categorical account of humanity's attempt to achieve immortality, from European philosopher and Financial Times essayist Cave. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LONG LIVE THE DEAD by Hugh B. Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 1, 2000

"If stories like 'Dead Dog,' 'Shadow,' and 'Long Live the Dead' seem merely routine, even pulpophobes will admire 'The Missing Mr. Lee,' which packs six different narrators' versions of what happened to a vanished liquor salesman into a dozen clever, fast-paced pages."
If Cave, prolific author of over 40 books (with 3 more forthcoming from the still-active 90-year-old) and over 1200 short stories, isn't exactly a forgotten classic, he's a seasoned practitioner whose ten tales (1934-41) collected here, together with a substantial introduction and interview by Deutsch, are bound to appeal to fans of Spicy Detective Stories, Dime Detective, and, yes, Black Mask. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

PLANES, TRAINS, AND AUTOMOBILES
by Julie Danielson

Well, maybe not exactly planes, trains, and automobiles. But you know those children who get really fired up reading books about things that go vroom? There’s a reason you can throw a rock and hit a children’s book about transportation: they are loved by many a child. Today, I’ve got three new ones worth your time, one an arrival from ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SELECTED by Patrick Cave
FICTION
Released: July 20, 2010

"Constantly gripping, always fascinating and completely compelling. (Science fiction. YA)"
Both a prequel and a sequel to Sharp North (2006), this multiple-time-period dystopia can stand on its own for readers willing to accept some confusion until the world of the novel emerges. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DEATH OF BUNNY MUNRO by Nick Cave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 8, 2009

"Profane and profound by turns—not for everyone, but Cave still knows how to command an audience."
After a two-decade pause, the post-punk singer-songwriter finally follows up his well-received first novel (And The Ass Saw The Angel, 1990) with a lurid fantasia about a drug-addled salesman. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN ORANGE PUMPKINS by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 18, 2015

"A spooky good time. (Board book. 1-3)"
Pumpkins are picked up one by one in a spooky board book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALLY AT THE FARM by Stephen Huneck
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 11, 2014

"A playful romp that has lost little in its adaptation and miniaturization. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
The black Labrador of picture-book fame makes her board-book debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALLY GOES TO HEAVEN by Stephen Huneck
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Gentle, understated and comforting to both children and adults. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The final entry in the late Huneck's series about Sally the black Labrador is a touching account of Sally's death from old age and her joyous experiences in heaven. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TEN ORANGE PUMPKINS by Stephen  Savage
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2013

"Although the landscapes Savage creates are highly stylized, they have a softness and gentle humor that will capture the imaginations of young children and add to their anticipation. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In this strong graphic treatment of a traditional theme, 10 Halloween pumpkins are spirited away or destroyed one by one by various seasonally appropriate, sometimes-scary entities: a scarecrow, a mummy, a bolt of lightning, a hungry ghost, alligators in a pond, pirates ("Arrr!"), an owl, a witch and a spider. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

VIVALDI AND THE INVISIBLE ORCHESTRA by Stephen Costanza
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 28, 2012

"Altogether, a pleasing interpretation of the creative process and the power of art to connect individuals. (author's note) (Picture book. 4­-7)"
Girls and women are often the overlooked players in music history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 6, 2012

"This emotional honesty alone is a reason to buy this book; the giraffe and Einstein are the icing on McCranie's cake. (Graphic fiction. 8-11)"
It's hard not to like a main character who brings a lab coat and briefcase to elementary school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SALLY GETS A JOB by Stephen Huneck
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2008

"Though this is not the most dynamic of Sally's adventures, Huneck's woodblock print illustrations in his distinctive folk-art style are always as charming as Sally herself. (author's note) (Picture book. 3-6)"
Huneck continues his popular series about Sally the black lab with this sixth entry in the series. Read full book review >