Search Results: "Sterling Mace"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mostly valuable testimonial of the Pacific campaign's desperate brutality—will appeal to fans of The Pacific or Band of Brothers."
Pulpy yet engrossing account of the vicious combat encountered by U.S. Marines in the Pacific theater of World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STERLING SQUADRON by Eric Nylund
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2012

"Tailor-made for gamers, this adventure fills a niche. (Science fiction. 10-14)"
A young pilot trainee needs to recruit more to defend Earth against an alien menace in this made-for-video-game sci-fi adventure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE STERLING INHERITANCE by Michael Siverling
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 7, 2004

"The tart narrative, winner of St. Martin's 2002 Best First Private Eye Mystery contest, has an appealing retro feel and a clever solution."
An amiable private eye may be getting too close to his prime suspect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Sterling Forest by John Fenzel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 8, 2016

"A well-paced espionage tale that centers on the slow unraveling of a complex mystery."
A newly elected U.S. congressman, before he's ever sworn in, travels to Europe to uncover his family's secret history as Lithuanian resistance fighters in Fenzel's (The Lazarus Covenant, 2009) thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HARDING SISTERS OF STERLING CITY ROAD AND ME by Carol E. Plimpton
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 23, 2017

"An uneven chronicle reveals the joys and tribulations of New England sisters."
A debut memoir follows a large family in rural Connecticut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SWEET DREAM BABY by Sterling Watson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 4, 2002

"A southern boy's fantasy of coming of age under the guidance of his languorous older aunt could make this a sneaky sleeper."
Watson (Deadly Sweet, 1994, etc.) serves up a nicely packed if sentimental and ultimately melodramatic teenage romp-turned-violent in an Eisenhower-era Florida town. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZEITGEIST by Bruce Sterling
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Nov. 7, 2000

"An inspired and brilliant paean to the old millennium and harbinger of the new, brimming with wit, flair, and insight: Y2K's Catch-22."
Turn-of-the-millennium spectacular, from the estimable Sterling (Distraction, 1998, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Dec. 1, 1993

"Meticulous and well researched: a solid tribute to black culture in America that might well ignite sparks of interest in a new generation of historians and artists."
An impressive array of 14 essays (most reprinted from scholarly journals) on aspects of African-Americanism, ranging in theme from black nationalism to the writings of Herman Melville— and spanning a quarter-century of the author's impressive career (History and Religious Studies/UC Riverside; Slave Culture, 1987, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Oct. 15, 1992

"An enjoyable, informative, and (as the first mainstream treatment of the subject) potentially important book; though occasionally obtrusive, Sterling is a fine and knowledgeable guide to this strange new world."
Thoroughly researched, this account of the government's crackdown on the nebulous but growing computer-underground provides a thoughtful report on the laws and rights being defined on the virtual frontier of cyberspace. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Nov. 25, 1991

"A serviceable biography adding to the lore of a difficult period of growth in US history. (Photographs—not seen.)"
From Sterling (ed., We Are Your Sisters, 1983), a full-scale biography that reveals the pioneering spirit of an early feminist and abolitionist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICCUPS! by Holly Sterling
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2016

"No one ever enjoys this particular affliction, and it's certainly not a new literary device, but young listeners will still gleefully 'Hic! Hic!' hiccup along. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A little girl is determined to cure her dog's hiccups. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BALLET by Sterling Publishing
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A decent starter for aspiring ballerinas and danseurs. (Board book. 1-3)"
Little readers explore the world of ballet. Read full book review >