Search Results: "Sterling Mace"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2012

"A mostly valuable testimonial of the Pacific campaign's desperate brutality—will appeal to fans of The Pacific or Band of Brothers."
Pulpy yet engrossing account of the vicious combat encountered by U.S. Marines in the Pacific theater of World War II. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILLER by Sterling Blake
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 12, 1993

"A nicely paced debut that holds up throughout, though George's misdeeds as a credit thief are far more compelling than his kill- sprees."
Cryonics medical technifiction in the Michael Crichton vein but—despite the title—more thriller than horror chiller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEADLY SWEET by Sterling Watson
Released: Sept. 15, 1994

"Six corpses, all without a clue."
Warmed-over Florida noir from rolling-stone novelist Watson (Blind Tongues, 1988). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEVEN DAYS by Sterling Nixon
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 5, 2014

"A small but brawny thriller with religious, political and financial themes."
A former CIA operative tries to protect his pastor brother's congregation in an America close to civil war in Nixon's (The Sea Kings of Rome, 2009) dystopian thriller. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 30, 1995

"A savvy observer's episodic briefing on an ethnic group that bears watching in a world economy no longer constrained by sociopolitical frontiers."
An illuminating if impressionistic appreciation of the Overseas Chinese, mainland ÇmigrÇs who down through the ages have become an economic force throughout Southeast Asia and beyondnotably, on North America's West Coast. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WANDERER by Sterling Hayden
Released: Oct. 21, 1963

"With the total unselective recall of a man who has had psychiatrists, Hayden has produced a surprising book that will be read."
The movie actor with the face of a wooden Viking—and the acting ability generally associated with that substance—has dropped the wheel of his famous schooner long enough to produce an autobiography. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW


"An often clear and credible read that looks at how to clear space for one's priorities."
In this how-to book, an emergency physician provides strong rationales and helpful instructions for maximizing efficiency in many aspects of day-to-day life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FIRST BASKETBALL BOOK by Sterling Children's Books
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 7, 2015

"These simple, nonfiction titles are a nice way to get little ones interested in sports and excited to give them a try. (Board book. 1-4)"
This nonfiction board book introduces basketball concepts to the sport's newest fans. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 1, 2001

"At journey's end, a failed moral compass."
The coauthors of several works on Will Rogers (A Will Rogers Treasury, not reviewed, etc.) now turn their attention to the man who flew him to his death: famed and, in their estimation, deeply flawed aviator Wiley Post. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEHIND THE CURTAIN by Jeffrey E. Sterling
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 24, 2015

"Accessible and often amusing medical anecdotes."
Drawing on over 20 years of experience in emergency medicine, debut author Sterling presents alternately humorous and sobering stories of the "controlled chaos" of a hospital emergency room. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THINGS THAT GO VROOM by Sterling Children's Books
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 5, 2016

"This arbitrary collection of things that go really goes nowhere. (Board book. 1-3)"
Twenty-four vehicles are each depicted on a single page with one sentence that describes what that vehicle does. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICCUPS! by Holly Sterling
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2016

"No one ever enjoys this particular affliction, and it's certainly not a new literary device, but young listeners will still gleefully 'Hic! Hic!' hiccup along. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A little girl is determined to cure her dog's hiccups. Read full book review >