Search Results: "Steve Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Aug. 1, 1994

"An excellent introduction to one of the most important frontiers of science, by a man who knows it as well as anyone."
If the history of life is the history of DNA, then this survey of genetics is an essential book for anyone interested in the development and possible future of our species. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 15, 2014

"Fair but uncompromising, counseling us to slough what William Blake called the ' ‘mind-forg'd manacles' of organized religion' and practice something universal: science."
British biologist Jones (Darwin's Island, 2009, etc.) has fun examining miraculous biblical tales with the gimlet eye of science. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Y by Steve Jones
NON-FICTION
Released: May 15, 2003

"Informative but off-putting unless you agree that 'ascent of women' implies 'descent of men.'"
Maleness as survival strategy seems increasingly unwise in this elaboration on the Y chromosome. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

REVOLUTIONARY SCIENCE by Steve Jones
NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"A passionately presented book that offers sparkling tangents for further study."
A history of the startling scientific innovations that rose to meet disconcerting troubles in revolutionary France. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

In the Tree Top by Candide Jones
Released: Oct. 15, 2015

"A warmhearted, eye-pleasing new 'Rock-a-Bye Baby' picture book in verse, nicely calibrated for cozy bedtime reading."
Using the well-loved "Rock-a-Bye Baby" lyrics as their springboard, a writer/editor with a literary-press background and her collaborator, an accomplished watercolorist, have created a pretty new picture book shaped around reassuring verses. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ORANGE, TRIANGLE, FOX by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"What this and its companion lack in clarity of concepts, they make up for in character. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
An exploration of colors, shapes and animals. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READY FOR WEATHER by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2016

"A plainspoken and effective introduction to the spectrum of weather patterns, with color identification as a bonus. (Board book. 1-2)"
Little readers learn the value of dressing properly for various weather conditions. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BOATS GO by Steve Light
Kirkus Star
by Steve Light, illustrated by Steve Light
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 3, 2015

"The real challenge will be keeping it out of the bathtub. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
Eight boats sail across the elongated double-page spreads, rendered in primary-color watercolors and accompanied by an appropriate sound. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CAT GOT A LOT by Steve Henry
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2015

"Another ideal story for newly hatched readers. (Early reader. 3-5)"
Happy Cat and his neighbors return for another early reader (Happy Cat, 2013). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GREEN LIZARDS VS. RED RECTANGLES by Steve Antony
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 27, 2015

"A visually entertaining story of war and peace. (Picture book. 3-5)"
The green lizards and the red rectangles are at war, but neither can defeat the other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRAINS GO by Steve Light
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"Sheer, fabulous power. (Board book. 1-3)"
There's more than just "choo-choo" along this track. Read full book review >