Search Results: "Steve Zeitlin"


BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 15, 2000

"The result is a thought-provoking companion to Virginia Hamilton's more story-oriented In the Beginning (1988). (bibliography) (Nonfiction. 11-14)"
"One person's religion is often another's mythology," writes the author. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAIRY TALES, FOLKTALES AND MYTHS
Released: Dec. 1, 1993

"Glossary; notes on the stories. (Folklore. 8+)"
Eighteen stories testifying to the tradition of quick-thinking mother wit that has saved countless individuals, as well as larger Jewish populations, from harm—like the man who, offered a choice of how he'll be put to death, contemplates briefly and replies that he would like to die of old age. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOPHOMORE YEAR IS GREEK TO ME by Meredith Zeitlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 21, 2015

"Fans of Sarah Mlynowski, Stephanie Perkins and Louise Rennison will enjoy this squeaky-clean travel adventure about the strength of family and the power of new experiences. (Fiction. 11-15)"
A dyed-in-the-wool New York teen discovers her Greek roots in this breezy novel by the author of Freshman Year & Other Unnatural Disasters (2012).Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

YOUNG ADULT
Released: March 1, 2012

"An undemanding and enjoyable diversion. (Fiction. 12-16)"
Another goofy, sweet teenage girl pratfalls through her first year of high school in this winsome, if predictable debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Dec. 1, 2011

"A sometimes rambling but more often incisive memoir from a retired top-rank anesthesiologist looking back on a long career."
First-time author and retired anesthesiologist Zeitlin elucidates the hands-on business of delivering sweet oblivion to surgical patients with as little risk as possible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE QUEEN'S HAT by Steve Antony
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 25, 2015

"Happily close to the most recent royal birth, this whimsical, British-themed picture book provides a kidcentric introduction to the geography of London and a great opportunity for spontaneous counting and observation activities. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Pursued by a corgi sporting an argyle vest, a cartoonish queen figure runs through London chasing her hat, which is being whisked away by a strong breeze. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EYE TO EYE by Steve Jenkins
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2014

"Another impressive presentation from a master craftsman. (Informational picture book. 6-10)"
The evolution of the eye and the surprising ways animals see the world are displayed in a thoughtfully designed and engagingly illustrated album. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IS THAT YOU, ALIEN? by Steve Cox
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2014

"A labored effort to squeeze a little more juice from a once-fresh gimmick. (Novelty. 5-7)"
Intrepid readers who don't mind slipping their hands into places without looking will get what they deserve from this backyard hunt for aliens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHOEMAKER EXTRAORDINAIRE by Steve Light
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2003

"High marks for energy. (author's note) (Picture book. 7-8)"
Wildly terpsichorean collages, constructed from patterned cloth and paper cutouts decorated with bright paint and shoe-sole prints, illustrate this original tale of a clever itinerant cobbler and a nearsighted giant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIVING COLOR by Steve Jenkins
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 10, 2007

"Extra facts about coloration and thumbnails providing basic information about each animal depicted make up the backmatter of this volume, which is guaranteed to be a browser's delight. (Nonfiction. 4-8)"
Color becomes the organizing factor in this new exploration of the quirks of the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STAN AND THE TOILET MONSTER by Steve Shreve
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"Tableaux done as large, simple line drawings featuring the annoyed-looking monster and hunched, hapless-looking smaller figures on nearly every page give the tale that fashionable Wimpy Kid look A serviceable placeholder for the Captain's next outing, with all the stinks and goo but not so much of the wit. (Illustrated fiction. 9-11)"
A pet iguana flushed down a toilet, a scientist's unwelcomed potion for giant Brussels sprouts, a sociopathic dog named Mr. Snuggles and a reeking glob of slime that turns out not to be a baseball are but some of the elements in this Captain Underpants-style yuck-o-rama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ADVENTURES OF BENNY by Steve Shreve
ADVENTURE
Released: Sept. 1, 2009

"Although clearly aimed at Captain Underpants fans, this misses the target. (Fiction. 7-10)"
A sequence of adventures details a small boy's encounters with a Bigfoot with smelly feet, a mummy named King Butt, pirates searching for a killer squid, a booger-man under his bed and a ghost guarding buried treasure on Monkey Island. Read full book review >