Search Results: "Stu Jones"


BOOK REVIEW

THROUGH THE FURY TO THE DAWN by Stu Jones
Released: Oct. 1, 2011

"A strongly told, well-paced, inspirational story for Christians and nonbelievers alike."
A band of Christian warriors struggles to defeat an evil warlord in a post-apocalyptic America. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Against the Fading of the Light by Stu Jones
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2015

"An energetic thriller about beleaguered warriors of God battling the powers of darkness that delivers a rousing conclusion."
A hero and his cohorts clash with a sinister clan in this tense volume, part of a post-apocalyptic trilogy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INTO THE DARK OF THE DAY by Stu Jones
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 9, 2013

"An intriguing and well-done Christian-fiction twist on the post-apocalyptic novel."
A gripping end-of-the-world (and after) thriller with heavy Christian overtones. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY SCHOOL’S A ZOO! by Stu Smith
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2004

"Uh-oh. (Picture book. 7-9)"
A lad's world is transformed the morning after a zoo visit: his parents "snort and drool" at the breakfast table, the substitute teacher is literally a bear, the computers in the lab are swarming with giant "bugs" of the creepy-crawly kind, and so on. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Kaylee and Sam by Stu Kane
Released: Jan. 25, 2013

"An inspiring, if uneven, story of teen romance and ambition."
A debut novel chronicling the relationship between pretty, popular overachiever Kaylee and her socially awkward, musically talented neighbor, Sam. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOLDILOCKS AND THE THREE MARTIANS by Stu Smith
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2004

"Additional even for fractured fairy-tale collections. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A rhyming twist of an old favorite designed to satisfy space lovers, too. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NGURRARA by Tyson Mowarin
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 20, 2013

"An atmospheric introduction to an ancient culture and some of the oldest and most remote art on Earth. (iPad storybook app. 6-9)"
Collaborating with a professional illustrator and a group of children, an Australian Ngarluma filmmaker commemorates in three short episodes his people's 15,000-year history in petroglyph-rich Murujaga (Burrup Peninsula). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

6 BOOKS FOR EARLY 2017
by Ana Grilo

Who’s excited that 2016 is coming to an end soon? I know I am, and I already started wish-listing all the awesome-looking 2017 releases and preparing my challenges and goals for 2017. One of them is to continue my Time Travel Project (in which I read as many books featuring time travel as I can, old and new) and the ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

HELLO KITTY SUMMERTIME FUN by Frankie Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 5, 2015

"A cute, serviceable game. (Board book. 2-3)"
The iconic white cat enjoys the summer season. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHO WANTS BROCCOLI? by Val Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 16, 2015

"Readers longing for a lid to their own pots, or with similarly challenging behaviors, will find comfort in Broccoli's tale. (Picture book. 4-8)"
The tricks that make a dog unadoptable in some people's eyes are just the ticket home for Broccoli. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HICKORY DICKORY DOCK by Carol Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1992

"A first purchase. (Folklore/Picture book. 3-8)"
Just 11 of the most familiar rhymes, each spread over four pages with a strategically placed peephole in the middle leaf. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACK AND WHITE NIGHTY-NIGHT by Sarah Jones
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2015

"Easy, rhythmic text and appealing, high-contrast illustrations on sturdy board pages make this a sweet and suitable addition to lap-time programs or baby's nighttime routine. (Board book. 6 mos.-2)"
A little owlet says goodnight to all the animals on the farm. Read full book review >