Search Results: "Suki Michelle"


BOOK REVIEW

THE APOCALYPSE GENE by Suki  Michelle
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Oct. 17, 2011

"While the storyline is more than a little convoluted, the well-choreographed, thematically powerful conclusion, coupled with the deeply developed characters of Olivya and Mikah, make this a memorable read."
This action-packed, breakneck-paced novel featuring a duo of lovestruck teenaged protagonists is a wildly imaginative young-adult apocalyptic thriller that also utilizes elements of science fiction, fantasy, folklore, mythology and romance. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICHELLE OBAMA by Peter Slevin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 7, 2015

"Slevin delivers a somewhat fawning portrait, but when necessary, he is willing to criticize and reveal his subject's missteps."
A Chicago-based journalist probes the fortunate yet humble upbringing of the first lady and, in a tedious refrain, her effective blackness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 20, 2011

"It's nice to see a book in which a girl finds that having her own powerful voice is a positive and valuable trait. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Suki's mother works hard to raise a proper, well-behaved bunny that speaks softly and follows the rules. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 10, 2017

"While writing about the first lady, most of these perceptive essayists are also writing about themselves and their country, showing the shifts in perception and possibility that she has helped inspire."
A collection of essays that genuflect before a first lady like no other. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MICHELLE CARTLIDGE'S BOOK OF WORDS by Michelle Cartlidge
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 1994

"The only surprises here are disappointing. (Fiction/Picture book. 2-6)"
In this standard word book from Cartlidge (A Mouses's Diary, 1982, etc.), a family of mice are followed through some typical events: getting dressed, going to school, shopping, attending a birthday party for Brother Mouse. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITHOUT YOU, THERE IS NO US by Suki Kim
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Directs the lights of emotion and intelligence on a country where ignorance is far from bliss."
A novelist and freelance journalist relates her experiences, both grim and gratifying, as an English teacher in a small North Korean university. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE INTERPRETER by Suki Kim
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2003

"A sleek, nearly hypnotic glimpse into the world of a Korean family ruptured in translation to America."
A ghostlike first novel follows the dispirited meanderings of a Korean-American woman in downtown Manhattan as she investigates the murder of her grocery-owner parents five years before. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAUGHTERS OF RUIN by K.D. Castner
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 5, 2016

"The slow, confusing opening does no favors, but eventually things speed up; anyone who makes it through the midpoint will end eager to see what happens next. (Fantasy. 12-16)"
Another book in the constant stream of read-alikes for Game of Thrones, with an actual body count. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ODD SOCKS by Michelle Robinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2016

"Sure to delight young readers as well as the young at heart. (Picture book. 4-7)"
When a pair of new socks find themselves in a drawer, they rejoice because they are "a match made in heaven." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONFESSIONS OF AN IMAGINARY FRIEND by Michelle Cuevas
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 8, 2015

"Though the writing is clever and there are plenty of amusing incidents included, life lessons and existential truths overwhelm everything, suggesting that the audience for this uneasy amalgam of whimsy and wisdom will be small. (Fiction. 8-10)"
An imaginary friend who yearns to be real learns about life along with the children who conjure him up in a variety of guises. Read full book review >