Search Results: "Susan Allen Maurin"


BOOK REVIEW

THE WOLF WHO WANTED TO BE AN ARTIST by Orianne Lallemand
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"Flaky fun. (Picture book. 3-6)"
How can the Wolf best express his creativity? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LITTLE BOX OF ANIMAL BOOKS by Christophe Boncens
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2012

"Developmentally dull; there's nothing to cheer about here. (Board book. 2-3) "
This box proves a bust. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NO SAINTS AROUND HERE by Susan Allen Toth
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 1, 2014

"An inward-looking account with an important take-home message: Caring for a dying loved one is a demanding task, and caregivers are only human."
A wife's frank memoir of her time as a caregiver during the last 18 months of her husband's life. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY LOVE AFFAIR WITH ENGLAND by Susan Allen Toth
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 1992

"Anglophiles will cherish this kindred spirit like a delicately flowered teacup, and will envy her unique finds."
Another engaging thematic ramble from the author of How to Prepare for Your High School Reunion (1988), Ivy Days (1984), and Blooming (1981). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 28, 2013

"Perhaps too textually dense for general readers, but the book raises and clarifies a variety of significant issues about the many decisions translators must contend with."
Translators reflect on their work: its mechanics, frustrations, rewards and meanings. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: May 1, 1991

An architect and his writer wife (Blooming, 1981 and Ivy Days, 1984) collaborate on this lyrical, likeable tale of the creation of Wind Whistle, their Minnesota summer getaway—and of the joys of the house-building process in general. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

READ ANYTHING GOOD LATELY? by Susan Allen
ABC BOOKS
Released: March 1, 2003

"Serving as a reminder to parents too, that reading opportunities are all around, this presents an engaging literary game likely to continue well beyond one pass through the ABCs. (Picture book. 5-7)"
A child's question prompts another's alphabetic reverie in this invitation to consider the many things and places to read: an atlas at the airport, a biography in bed, a gossip magazine in the grocery line, and on up to a zodiac (i.e., horoscope) at the zoo. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

ITSY MITSY RUNS AWAY by Elanna Allen
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 3, 2011

"The irresistible tug of clever language combines with visual pizzazz to make this runaway story a runaway hit. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Itsy Mitsy may be teeny tiny, but she has BIG issues with bedtime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ERIKA-SAN by Allen Say
by Allen Say, illustrated by Allen Say
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 26, 2009

"Expert angles and a touching sense of stillness make this piece visually masterful even while conceptually disquieting. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Say's hallmark watercolors, beautifully composed and superbly detailed, illustrate this slightly unsettling shift of homeland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 1, 2012

"This inspiring account of caring for a loved one with a brain injury will help guide anyone in a similar situation."
One couple's tale of struggle and ultimate triumph over a debilitating brain injury as relayed by both patient and caregiver. Read full book review >