Search Results: "Susan Aurelia Gitelson"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: June 29, 2012

"Readers with even a passing interest in charitable giving will find this guide to be an informative, go-to resource on how to get started."
Gitelson (Multilateral Aid for National Development and Self-Reliance, 1975) draws upon her extensive background working with various international organizations to create an accessible, encyclopedic reference volume for average citizens interested in contributing to the greater good. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMEONE I WANTED TO BE by Aurelia Wills
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"A melancholy, memorable piece tackling shame, unkindness, poverty, and, finally, hope. (14 & up)"
A teen tries to escape a miserable existence by posing as someone else. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BROKEN CHINA by Lori Aurelia Williams
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: March 5, 2010

"Those with a taste for gleams of sunshine in their grit will find this just the ticket. (Fiction. YA)"
Only 14, China's two-year-old daughter is the center of her universe. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHAYLA’S DOUBLE BROWN BABY BLUES by Lori Aurelia Williams
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 1, 2001

"A fine second effort from a promising author. (Fiction. YA)"
This sequel to When Kambia Elaine Flew in from Neptune (2000) stands firmly on its own merits. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: May 18, 2007

"The laborious agonies of creating beauty, captured in relaxed, anecdotal prose."
Investigative visits with some gung-ho rose-lovers, who reveal their methods, motivation and super-competitive ways. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAXINE BANKS IS GETTING MARRIED by Lori Aurelia Williams
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: Sept. 28, 2010

"It's a pleasure watching her learn from experience and apply that earned wisdom, especially the dawning recognition that if Demonee has the right to be loved and accepted for who she is, so has Maxine herself. (Fiction. 14 & up)"
From the first line, the eponymous narrator—affectionate, funny and smart—draws readers into her story with the same strong will she uses to persuade her longtime boyfriend, Brian, to tie the knot. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >