Search Results: "Susan Banta"


BOOK REVIEW

WAKING UP DOWN UNDER by Carol Votaw
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"No one will be able to read this without wanting to travel to see these creatures in person. (Picture book/nonfiction. 2-7)"
Votaw's second effort is an adorable look at how the animals Down Under wake up and greet the day (or night, as the case may be). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUBBLE AND SQUEAK by Louise Bonnett-Rampersaud
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Sept. 1, 2006

"Banta's full-page soft acrylic illustrations give Bubbles and Mom spunk, and playful endpapers with Bubble tumbling around in her jammies add to this tale's appeal for intimate sharing at bedtime. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Heartwarming and delightful, the story brings readers right into the tiny mouse Bubble's bedroom as her mother tucks her into bed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

The Fly Strip by Gwen Banta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 15, 2016

"A spirited tale about finding a new place in the world."
Banta tells the story of a teenage orphan struggling to start over in small-town Indiana in this debut novel. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALSE PROPHET by Donna Banta
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 21, 2013

"This novel scores big not because of its mystery but due to its pregnant protagonist and her inexorable fortitude."
In Banta's (The Girls from Fourth Ward, 2012) second murder mystery to feature detective Matt Ryan, the murder of a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints may lead to a killer within the church. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PRINCESS by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"The pictures capture all the opalescence of daylight and sunset on a snowy landscape, and Paradis shows a fine sense not only of line and pattern, but of the rhythms of the imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pretty and charming tale about snow, imagination and waiting for Daddy to come home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN by Susan Winter
by Susan Winter, illustrated by Susan Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Still, an attractive, authentic picture of early childhood. (Picture book. 2-6)"
One of two simple books contrasting a preschooler with his toddler sister. Read full book review >