Search Results: "Susan Baur"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 8, 1997

"Intriguing ideas about the past and present of psychotherapy for both therapists and those they counsel."
A perceptive and empathetic psychologist tackles a touchy subject—the role of love in therapy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 2, 1994

"Better when practicing than when preaching, Baur is insightful, compassionate, and wise."
A telling look into the pained hearts and confused minds of the mentally ill, by the author of The Dinosaur Man (1991). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: July 31, 1991

"Comes close to being a voyeuristic trip through a sideshow but is saved by the author's genuine concern for those whose afflictions she describes."
Like Oliver Sacks, psychologist Baur (Hypochondria: Woeful Imaginings, 1988) writes with clear empathy for those afflicted with mental illness. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH’S WALKING STICK by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2005

"Meddaugh's droll, economical prose is matched to perfection by her wonderfully expository artwork. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Meddaugh's wacky, and highly pleasurable, Cinderella-like tale doesn't need any prince for Margaret (as our Cinderella is known) to escape the demands of her lazy and cruel siblings, just a near-spent magic walking stick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA AND SKITS by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"If it flies or floats, it's history. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh tucks an unobtrusive lesson about valuing differences into this tale of doggy devotion, her fifth featuring the ever-popular Martha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY MOMMY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 15, 2002

"Cozy and comforting, Paradis's tale is a testament to a mother's devotion and a joy to read. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Paradis (My Daddy, 1998) turns her keen eye towards the unique bonds shared by mother and child. Read full book review >