Search Results: "Susan Champlin"


BOOK REVIEW

FIGHT FOR FREEDOM by Susan Champlin
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 17, 2012

"A graphic-novel series that aims to draw in reluctant historians; it looks like it may well achieve its goal. (Historical graphic novel. 10-14)"
When the people in this graphic novel get into a fight, they go "ACK!" and "POW" and "G-R-R-R-R," yet the book makes for surprisingly credible history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ROAD TO REVOLUTION! by Stan Mack
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"The comic is sandwiched between prose analyses that separate fact from fancy. (Graphic fiction. 10-12)"
Two fictional young Bostonians are swept up in actual events that culminate in the Battle of Bunker Hill. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SPECTACULAR SPOTS by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Despite a blotch or two, a spot-on animal gallery for budding naturalists. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
In this companion to the animal gallery in Stripes of All Types (2013), Stockdale focuses her spotlight.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOLLOWING THE TRACTOR by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2014

"A delightful book that will stand up to repeated readings on a lap or in a group setting. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Over the course of a year, all manner of birds and animals follow a farmer as he works the fields with his tractor. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PICTURE DAY by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"Not quite as easy a read as similarly formatted Boris on the Move, by Andrew Joyner (2013), this will nonetheless appeal to emergent female readers wishing to look especially accomplished to their peers—and who doesn't enjoy that feeling? (Fiction. 5-7)"
Shaped like an early chapter book rather than an easy reader, this effort, one of a new series called Branches, introduces super-duper Missy and her encounter with school picture day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DAY BY DAY by Susan Gal
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2012

"A luminous celebration of family, food and home. (Picture book. 4-9)"
Day by day, brick by brick, a community is built in this winning tribute to fellowship and family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RED CAR, RED BUS by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"Still, a rich opportunity for repeat visits and a masterful display of the manipulation of the chosen material. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Gorgeously crafted paper illustrations reveal the interconnectedness of a small town's inhabitants while introducing young readers to colors and the concept of patterns. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE LIFE OF A CAR by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2008

"A utilitarian foray into the wonderful world of the automobile that should satisfy the curious and provide just enough visuals to delight very young auto aficionados. (Picture book. 3-8)"
As the title suggests, this is a step-by-step portrait of the life-cycle of a car. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FAMILIES by Susan Kuklin
Kirkus Star
by Susan Kuklin, photographed by Susan Kuklin
CHILDREN'S
Released: Jan. 1, 2006

"Perfect for the ever-popular family curriculum unit that can also be shared at home. (Nonfiction. 6-9)"
A family scrapbook candidly portraying many contemporary families: straight and gay, single-parent and nuclear, divorced and blended, Jewish and Muslim, bi-cultural, first-generation immigrants and families with children who have special needs. Read full book review >