Search Results: "Susan Crandall"


BOOK REVIEW

THE FLYING CIRCUS by Susan Crandall
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 7, 2015

"An engaging road saga that hits some potholes—or air pockets—along the way."
Picaresque tour of mid-America in the aftermath of the Great War, bringing together a fugitive, a jaded flier, an escapee former heiress—and a very cute puppy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHISTLING PAST THE GRAVEYARD by Susan Crandall
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 2, 2013

"Young Starla is an endearing character whose spirited observations propel this nicely crafted story."
Crandall (Sleep No More, 2010, etc.) delivers big with a coming-of-age story set in Mississippi in 1963 and narrated by a precocious 9-year-old. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUGVILLE by Court Crandall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 27, 2006

"A cute way to spice up one's hug life. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Hugville is famous for its unique hugs and its hospitality; the mayor invites one and all to come for a sampling. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH’S WALKING STICK by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2005

"Meddaugh's droll, economical prose is matched to perfection by her wonderfully expository artwork. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Meddaugh's wacky, and highly pleasurable, Cinderella-like tale doesn't need any prince for Margaret (as our Cinderella is known) to escape the demands of her lazy and cruel siblings, just a near-spent magic walking stick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA AND SKITS by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"If it flies or floats, it's history. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh tucks an unobtrusive lesson about valuing differences into this tale of doggy devotion, her fifth featuring the ever-popular Martha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY MOMMY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 15, 2002

"Cozy and comforting, Paradis's tale is a testament to a mother's devotion and a joy to read. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Paradis (My Daddy, 1998) turns her keen eye towards the unique bonds shared by mother and child. Read full book review >