Search Results: "Susan Daitch"


BOOK REVIEW

THE LOST CIVILIZATION OF SUOLUCIDIR by Susan Daitch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 15, 2016

"An inventive concoction but a middling book; though without the grating ineptitude of Dan Brown, also without the charm of a Stanislaw Lem or Jorge Luis Borges."
An Umberto Eco-lite literary mystery spanning continents and centuries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STORYTOWN by Susan Daitch
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 20, 1996

"Daitch explores the nature of art and the meaning of defacement, destruction, and duplication in fictions that invite their own deconstruction."
A first collection, from the author of L.C. (1987) and The Colorist (1989), brings together 15 fictions, some of which have appeared in the edgier small-press mags, which is not surprising given the postmodern play of ideas that defines most of Daitch's work. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2002

"Of some interest to historians of science and to students of the creative process, of which scientific thought is surely a part."
Serviceable biography of the Nobel Prize-winning physicist who invented the transistor. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH’S WALKING STICK by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2005

"Meddaugh's droll, economical prose is matched to perfection by her wonderfully expository artwork. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Meddaugh's wacky, and highly pleasurable, Cinderella-like tale doesn't need any prince for Margaret (as our Cinderella is known) to escape the demands of her lazy and cruel siblings, just a near-spent magic walking stick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA AND SKITS by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"If it flies or floats, it's history. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh tucks an unobtrusive lesson about valuing differences into this tale of doggy devotion, her fifth featuring the ever-popular Martha. Read full book review >