Search Results: "Susan Dennard"


BOOK REVIEW

STRANGE AND EVER AFTER by Susan Dennard
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: July 22, 2014

"An emotionally honest, well-earned denouement brings this lively historical zombie trilogy to an honorable end. (Paranormal historical fiction. 12 & up)"
Eleanor Fitt, the Spirit-Hunters, her demon and her newly arrived frenemy from Philadelphia take to the skies in an airship in pursuit of the evil necromancer Marcus. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRUTHWITCH by Susan Dennard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 1, 2016

"Epic adventure and steamy smooches make for a crowd-pleasing formula. (Fantasy. 13-18)"
Two devoted friends dreaming of independence contend with unfathomable magic and the schemes of empires in this action-packed series opener. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DARKNESS STRANGE AND LOVELY by Susan Dennard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 23, 2013

"Fans will likely give weaknesses the benefit of the doubt and look forward to the third volume; here's hoping it repays their faith. (Paranormal historical fiction. 12 & up)"
Still reeling from the zombie cataclysm that took her hand and left her necromancer brother dead and his body possessed (Something Strange and Deadly, 2012), Eleanor Fitt sets her sights on Paris, where the Spirit-Hunters who had helped her are now battling its Dead. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOMETHING STRANGE AND DEADLY by Susan Dennard
YOUNG ADULT
Released: July 24, 2012

"Readers who can look past the gloomily generic paranormal cover will find themselves pleasantly occupied. (Paranormal historical fiction. 12 & up)"
Zombies strike the 1876 Philadelphia World's Fair. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TRAVIS AND THE BETTER MOUSETRAP by Deborah Dennard
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 1996

"The evolutions of this tale are arbitrary and mechanically carried out; neither Dennard nor Burns, with her pale illustrations, settles into either pure fancy or droll matter-of-factness, but hovers somewhere in between. (Picture book. 5-8)"
When young Travis Jay MacArthur builds a super mechanical trap to eliminate his Aunt Millie's mouse problem, he is amazed to discover that it captures a ``Better Mouse''—a talking, bespectacled mouse almost as tall as he is. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >