Search Results: "Susan Detwiler"


BOOK REVIEW

ON THE MOVE by Scotti Cohn
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 10, 2013

"An additional resource only. (Nonfiction. 5-9)"
Animal migrations offer an opportunity to see hundreds or thousands of the same species gathered in one place. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SPARROW AND THE TREES by Sharon Chriscoe
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 10, 2015

"Unexceptional despite the addenda and likely to be overshadowed. (bibliography) (Picture book/folk tale. 6-8) "
Heartlessness leads to leaflessness for trees that refuse to shelter an injured sparrow for the winter. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SLIPPER AND FLIPPER IN THE QUEST FOR THE GOLDEN SUN by Susan Reagan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Delightful art can't save this problematic exploration. (Picture book. 5-8) "
Two penguin siblings, Slipper and Flipper, have grown up idolizing their famous forebear, helmet-wearing Spanish explorer Don Pingüino, and want to emulate him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLORS by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Aside from the spinnable color wheel insert at the end of the book, there is little here to hold the attention of even the most digger-crazy toddler. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Another contribution to the crowded field of big-truck picture books, with a focus on color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS by Susan Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A whimsical, magical interpretation of a holiday classic, improved by the additional storyline and the charming narrator. (artist's note) (Picture book. 3-7)"
Jeffers has created a lovely story incorporating the words of the old folk song with one important change: a clever substitution of Santa as the giver of all the gifts instead of the narrator's "true love." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEBBLE by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"But the overly sentimental story will need the right audience. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The subtitle immediately lets readers young and old know the lay of the land: This is a story that wants to direct, even control, emotional response. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FABULOUS FISHES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"Includes an informative note for easy identification of each species pictured, as well as a brief bibliography for beginning researchers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fish of all sorts—tropical and freshwater, smooth and spiky, large and small, schooled and solitary, easy-to-spot and camouflaged—dive and swim through this likable, resonant rhyme that emphasizes outstanding features of each species. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BUSY BOATS by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2011

"Beguiling and visually compelling. Sail away! (Picture book. 2-7)"
The harbor contains a surprising variety of fascinating boats of all sizes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY CHINCOTEAGUE PONY by Susan Jeffers
ADVENTURE
Released: June 17, 2008

"The large trim and appealing pony on the cover will make kids reach for it, but the contents don't live up to the packaging. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Young Julia, a horse-mad little girl, wants a pony of her own. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PERFECTLY MARTHA by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: March 29, 2004

"Martha is the perfect mutt to raise the slogan 'Question Authority' to an art form: really, if you're not drinking from the toilet or scattering trash, are you being true to your inner dog? (Picture book. 4-8)"
Martha, the dog who took alphabet soup to new heights, smells a rat when the dogs in her neighborhood start behaving too obediently after a course with Otis Weaselgraft's Perfect Pup Institute. Read full book review >