Search Results: "Susan Engel"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"The concise and passionate story of how a teenager formed his own school that is 'intellectually demanding of all its students, no matter what their academic history.'"
The story behind one young man's alternative school within a school. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 8, 2011

"A compassionate guide for parents and educators."
Developmental psychologist Engel (Psychology/Williams Coll.; RealKids: Creating Meaning in Everyday Life, 2005, etc.) presents strategies for navigating the challenges and pitfalls of parenting. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JOSEPHINA HATES HER NAME by Diana Engel
Released: March 24, 1989

The little alligator girl introduced in Josephina, the Great Collector is back in another illuminating vignette. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHELF-PAPER JUNGLE by Diana Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 1994

"A gentle, reassuring message about the durability of friendship. (Picture book. 5-8)"
Another bittersweet little tale of loss and change in a relationship that's been strengthened by shared artistic endeavors (see also Eleanor, Arthur, and Claire, 1992). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC YOGA by Christiane Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2016

"Still, a sturdy and playful introduction to the popular practice of an ancient tradition. (Board book. 2-4)"
A multihued cast of characters introduce yoga to preschoolers and toddlers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ABC LOVE by Christiane Engel
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 14, 2017

"An emotional mess. Here's hoping Engel finds a text worthy of her playful art. (Board book. 18 mos.-4)"
Children and their grown-ups explore the ABCs of love. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE VEINS OF THE OCEAN by Patricia Engel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 3, 2016

"A dark comedy with unexpected heart."
After her older brother Carlito kills his girlfriend Isabela's baby girl because he thinks Isabela is cheating on him, 23-year-old Reina feels trapped trying to comfort him on death row—until his death frees her to start over in Crescent Key, a place where nobody knows her family history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ROANOKE GIRLS by Amy Engel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2017

"Sordid, unrealistic, and unredeemed."
Whole lotta dead girls in this rural Kansas family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

Woman on the Verge of Paradise by Robyn Alana Engel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 13, 2015

"A dating adventure that packs plenty of humor but not enough focus."
A first novel details a string of unfortunate dates and a vibrant attempt at romance. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MITZVAH MAGICIAN by Linda Elovitz Marshall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2012

"Abracadabra! Lovely magic indeed. (Picture book. 3-8)"
Whenever Gabriel the great magician commands "Presto Magico," a small disaster occurs. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >