Search Results: "Susan Fels"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 7, 1999

"Tyng's saga, edited by his great-great-granddaughter, grips with its lively immediacy and transports with its mildly antique but always expressive language. (Author tour)"
Shipping merchant Charles Tyng's wonderfully vivid memoir of his wild and adventurous years as a sea boy and then captain on blue-water vessels. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BACKLIST FAVES
by Leila Roy

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned here before, I love exploring backlists. Right now, for example, I’ve been working my way through all of Betty Ren Wright’s books—everyone knows The Dollhouse Murders, but she wrote DOZENS of other chapter books—and after reading Sue Macy’s Motor Girls for the Amelia Bloomer Project, I’ve been working my way through her older books as ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DIGGING DEEP
by Julie Danielson

Picture books are a greatly underestimated art form, too often dismissed, in the words of Maurice Sendak, as trifles for the kiddies. I’m about to teach a Summer graduate course, all about picture books, for the University of Tennessee, and I plan to kick it off with the usual request of my students: please try to go beyond merely “cute” ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DIGGERS ARE COMING! by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2013

"Perfect for the very young truck fanatic. (Picture book. 4-7)"
All kinds of bruising vehicles have a part in creating a new housing development in this muscular import from the U.K. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INTO THE OUTDOORS by Susan Gal
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 11, 2011

"Pedagogy takes a back seat to the elemental pleasures of being 'outside in the great outdoors.' (Picture book. 6-8)"
An effervescent celebration of an overnight camping trip, with all the prepositions highlighted. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA THE WONDERFUL by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 21, 2003

"This new pig on the scene more closely resembles Holly Keller's Geraldine than Falconer's star pig, but the watercolor-and-ink illustrations are active and sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lily and Ian Falconer's Olivia comes Willa, a young pig who has planned her career path. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HARRY ON THE ROCKS by Susan Meddaugh
ADVENTURE
Released: April 28, 2003

"More perceptive readers may vaguely detect some symbolism in this sketchy episode, but for tales on the theme of unlikely parentage, Lynn Reiser's Surprise Family (1994) still sets the standard. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh's newest is a William Steig-like tale of a lonely castaway who inadvertently becomes a parent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST IN PASSING by Susan Bonners
Released: March 22, 1989

Here, an unusual idea for a wordless book is charmingly developed: a drowsy baby, cushioned on its 'shopping mother's shoulder, yawns. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA CALLING by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 1994

"Rarely do sequels have such zip. (Fiction/Picture book. 4-8)"
Martha, a dog, takes command of the human language after eating a bowl of alphabet soup. Read full book review >