Search Results: "Susan Gloss"


BOOK REVIEW

VINTAGE by Susan Gloss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 25, 2014

"A likable but lackluster debut, not likely to stand out in the crowded field of fiction about women united by a common pursuit."
Lost souls find new hope in a Madison, Wis., resale shop, in Gloss' debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DAZZLE OF DAY by Molly Gloss
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: June 1, 1997

"Your move."
Multigenerational starship yarn, a first science fiction venture for the mainstream author of The Jump-Off Creek (1989), etc. After 140 years traveling through space, propelled by its solar sails, Dusty Miller finally draws near a new world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILD LIFE by Molly Gloss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 8, 2000

"Never has there been a more authentic, persuasive, or moving evocation of this elusive legend: a masterpiece."
Cigar-smoking, feminist writer of dime-store adventure novels for women meets Bigfoot in 1905: from the author of The Jump-off Creek (1989) and The Dazzle of Day (1997). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE HEARTS OF HORSES by Molly Gloss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 6, 2007

"Despite the sometimes wrenching shifts in narrative point of view, Gloss (Wild Life, 2000, etc.) offers an acutely observed, often lyrical portrayal that mirrors our own era and, title notwithstanding, has as much to say about people as about horses."
As America commits fully to World War I, a lady horse whisperer likewise resolves to succeed. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FALLING FROM HORSES by Molly Gloss
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"Don't expect a neatly structured plot, but the acute sense of time and place, coupled with a cast of characters drawn with unsentimental but abiding affection, makes for a hypnotic read."
Gloss (The Hearts of Horses, 2007, etc.) presents moviemaking as anything but glamorous in this fictional memoir by an aging artist recalling his year as a movie extra/stuntman in 1938 Hollywood. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SLIPPER AND FLIPPER IN THE QUEST FOR THE GOLDEN SUN by Susan Reagan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Delightful art can't save this problematic exploration. (Picture book. 5-8) "
Two penguin siblings, Slipper and Flipper, have grown up idolizing their famous forebear, helmet-wearing Spanish explorer Don Pingüino, and want to emulate him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLORS by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Aside from the spinnable color wheel insert at the end of the book, there is little here to hold the attention of even the most digger-crazy toddler. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Another contribution to the crowded field of big-truck picture books, with a focus on color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS by Susan Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A whimsical, magical interpretation of a holiday classic, improved by the additional storyline and the charming narrator. (artist's note) (Picture book. 3-7)"
Jeffers has created a lovely story incorporating the words of the old folk song with one important change: a clever substitution of Santa as the giver of all the gifts instead of the narrator's "true love." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEBBLE by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"But the overly sentimental story will need the right audience. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The subtitle immediately lets readers young and old know the lay of the land: This is a story that wants to direct, even control, emotional response. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FABULOUS FISHES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"Includes an informative note for easy identification of each species pictured, as well as a brief bibliography for beginning researchers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fish of all sorts—tropical and freshwater, smooth and spiky, large and small, schooled and solitary, easy-to-spot and camouflaged—dive and swim through this likable, resonant rhyme that emphasizes outstanding features of each species. Read full book review >