Search Results: "Susan Lubner"


BOOK REVIEW

THE UPSIDE OF ORDINARY by Susan Lubner
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2012

"This debut novel offers an amusing lesson on the downside of reality television, one that readers will catch on to far sooner than the misguided protagonist. (Fiction. 9-12)"
Jermaine is old enough to know better. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"If you've got a hankerin' for stories of hair, try Franny B. Kranny (2001) or Bedhead (2000) to share. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Ruthie Bon Bair will NOT dry her long hair, and soon she discovers there are mushrooms up there! Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 2008

"A short glossary explains unfamiliar terms such as 'forge,' 'counterpane,' and 'magazine.' (Picture book. 3-6)"
Garrick the Gardener's horse runs away, sulks and refuses to work, and no one knows what to do. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NOISES AT NIGHT by Beth Raisner Glass
ADVENTURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"This tale is a wonderful way to ease bedtime fears and may even result in children creating their own soothing game. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Nighttime, with all its shadows and sounds, can be disconcerting for even the most lion-hearted. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PRINCESS by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"The pictures capture all the opalescence of daylight and sunset on a snowy landscape, and Paradis shows a fine sense not only of line and pattern, but of the rhythms of the imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pretty and charming tale about snow, imagination and waiting for Daddy to come home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN by Susan Winter
by Susan Winter, illustrated by Susan Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Still, an attractive, authentic picture of early childhood. (Picture book. 2-6)"
One of two simple books contrasting a preschooler with his toddler sister. Read full book review >