Search Results: "Susan Massotty"


BOOK REVIEW

WEDDING BY THE SEA by Abdelkader Benali
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2000

This unusual debut by a young Moroccan-born Dutch writer, which won major literary prizes in Holland and France, is a fragmented family chronicle doled out in stories shared by young Lamarat Minar and the garrulous taxi-driver "Bucket of Bolts" Chalid, who plays a raffish Sancho Panza to Lamarat's reluctant quixotic searcher. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALL SOULS’ DAY by Cees Nooteboom
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"All Souls' Day displays with admirable lucidity the workings of a humane, civilized, and consistently interesting mind. But it's just barely a novel, and few readers are likely to stay its tortuous and redundant course."
A documentary filmmaker's tenuous hold on both reality and the past occupies the foreground of this very discursive 1998 novel by the prizewinning Dutch author (The Following Story, 1994, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LOST PARADISE by Cees Nooteboom
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"Luminous. Numinous. Glorious."
An astonishing tale of a beautiful art student seeking her soul in Australia's Outback. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY FATHER’S NOTEBOOK by Kader Abdolah
Released: March 1, 2006

"An intimate portrait of Iran, stuffed with ambition, but ultimately overladen."
Abdolah, an Iranian expatriate now living in the Netherlands, nests a story about a father and son into a sweeping novel that chronicles the tumultuous modern history of his homeland. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE KREUTZER SONATA by Margriet de Moor
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2005

"De Moor is rapidly becoming one of the world's finest novelists."
A troubled union of two artistic temperaments feels "the powerful effects of music on our emotions," in an elegant short novel from the internationally acclaimed Dutch author (Duke of Egypt, 2002, etc.). Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PRINCESS by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"The pictures capture all the opalescence of daylight and sunset on a snowy landscape, and Paradis shows a fine sense not only of line and pattern, but of the rhythms of the imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pretty and charming tale about snow, imagination and waiting for Daddy to come home. Read full book review >