Search Results: "Susan Maushart"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 20, 2011

"No Luddite diatribe, but an insightful tale of the digital dilemmas familiar to many families."
Weekend Australian Magazine columnist Maushart (What Women Want Now, 2007, etc.) examines what happened when she and her three teenaged children went on a six-month hiatus from the digital world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT WOMEN WANT NEXT by Susan Maushart
NON-FICTION
Released: July 1, 2007

"Hardly profound, but Maushart offers a breezy style, vivid personal anecdotes and a funny take on female-male relationships."
A feminist's witty and wide-ranging meditation, first published in Australia in 2005, on what makes women happy in the post-feminist era. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PRINCESS by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"The pictures capture all the opalescence of daylight and sunset on a snowy landscape, and Paradis shows a fine sense not only of line and pattern, but of the rhythms of the imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pretty and charming tale about snow, imagination and waiting for Daddy to come home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN by Susan Winter
by Susan Winter, illustrated by Susan Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Still, an attractive, authentic picture of early childhood. (Picture book. 2-6)"
One of two simple books contrasting a preschooler with his toddler sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREWORKS by Susan Kuklin
by Susan Kuklin, photographed by Susan Kuklin
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 1996

"The subject of fireworks, however, is so inherently exhilarating that readers will easily forgive her for getting a little carried away. (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
Young and old alike will enjoy meeting the Gruccis, dubbed ``The First Family of Fireworks,'' and learning all the details involved in staging a fireworks show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT YOU by Susan Farrington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"This could be a conversation starter about the manifestation of love between an adult-child reading pair…once they've parsed the attention-getting artwork. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Farrington's picture-book debut looks at all the things an adult caregiver loves about a child. Read full book review >