Search Results: "Susan Milord"


BOOK REVIEW

PEBBLE by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"But the overly sentimental story will need the right audience. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The subtitle immediately lets readers young and old know the lay of the land: This is a story that wants to direct, even control, emotional response. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA THE WONDERFUL by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 21, 2003

"This new pig on the scene more closely resembles Holly Keller's Geraldine than Falconer's star pig, but the watercolor-and-ink illustrations are active and sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lily and Ian Falconer's Olivia comes Willa, a young pig who has planned her career path. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SEMPRE SUSAN by Sigrid Nunez
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 13, 2011

"Graceful, respectful and achingly honest."
Novelist Nunez (Salvation City, 2010, etc.) recalls her years with her longtime friend Susan Sontag (1933-2004). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STALKING SUSAN by Julie Kramer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 15, 2008

"Kramer's past as a TV producer lends authority to an entertaining story."
Two cold cases spark a hot story for flailing TV reporter Riley Spartz in this lively and fast-paced debut. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHARING SUSAN by Eve Bunting
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 30, 1991

"A gripping but flawed story, then, to provoke vigorous discussion. (Fiction. 10-13)"
Bunting explores what happens after two couples learn that their daughters were switched as babies in the hospital. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUSAN SONTAG by Daniel Schreiber
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 15, 2014

"Schreiber's intelligent reading of Sontag's works and his fair and balanced handling of the impassioned controversies she generated admirably serve both his subject and his readers."
A sensitive, cleareyed biography of an intellectual star, first published in Germany in 2007. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUSAN SONTAG by Jonathan Cott
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 22, 2013

"Another side of a significant 20th-century writer, preserved from the archives."
A humanizing interview with the late cultural icon, who was often perceived as a fiercely aggressive and polarizing intellect. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUSAN SONTAG by Carl Rollyson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 17, 2000

"Although light on both literary and psychological substance, this biography, like Sontag herself, has plenty of charm."
An engagingly gossipy biography of the most glamorous intellectual celebrity of our time, assessing the impact of the writer's persona more thoroughly than her literary creations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF I COULD by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2008

"This cozy, comforting tale is a perfect fit for toddlers, who yearn to know they are the center of their loved one's universe. (Picture Book. 2-6)"
A raccoon mother croons a gentle ode to her cherished child in this heartfelt offering from Milord. Read full book review >