Search Results: "Susan Milord"


BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEBBLE by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"But the overly sentimental story will need the right audience. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The subtitle immediately lets readers young and old know the lay of the land: This is a story that wants to direct, even control, emotional response. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WILLA THE WONDERFUL by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 21, 2003

"This new pig on the scene more closely resembles Holly Keller's Geraldine than Falconer's star pig, but the watercolor-and-ink illustrations are active and sweet. (Picture book. 4-8)"
In the tradition of Kevin Henkes's Lily and Ian Falconer's Olivia comes Willa, a young pig who has planned her career path. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF I COULD by Susan Milord
ADVENTURE
Released: April 1, 2008

"This cozy, comforting tale is a perfect fit for toddlers, who yearn to know they are the center of their loved one's universe. (Picture Book. 2-6)"
A raccoon mother croons a gentle ode to her cherished child in this heartfelt offering from Milord. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HAPPY SCHOOL YEAR! by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 1, 2008

"Includes an author's note on First Day celebrations. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A first-day-of-school celebration featuring cupcakes and a group cheer led by a smiling principal concludes this sunny account. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TALES ALIVE! by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: Aug. 17, 1998

"A collection not to be devoured in one sitting, but savored section by section. (index) (Folklore. 4-8)"
Luminous artwork, activities, and stories from around the world combine for an ethereal collection of avian folklore. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >