Search Results: "Susan Nees"


BOOK REVIEW

PICTURE DAY by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2013

"Not quite as easy a read as similarly formatted Boris on the Move, by Andrew Joyner (2013), this will nonetheless appeal to emergent female readers wishing to look especially accomplished to their peers—and who doesn't enjoy that feeling? (Fiction. 5-7)"
Shaped like an early chapter book rather than an easy reader, this effort, one of a new series called Branches, introduces super-duper Missy and her encounter with school picture day. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAYBACK by David  Nees
Released: Aug. 24, 2017

"A thrilling start to a new series starring a complex assassin."
When his pregnant wife is killed in the couple's mob-torched Brooklyn business, an Iraq War veteran sets out on a mission for payback. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH’S WALKING STICK by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2005

"Meddaugh's droll, economical prose is matched to perfection by her wonderfully expository artwork. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Meddaugh's wacky, and highly pleasurable, Cinderella-like tale doesn't need any prince for Margaret (as our Cinderella is known) to escape the demands of her lazy and cruel siblings, just a near-spent magic walking stick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA AND SKITS by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"If it flies or floats, it's history. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh tucks an unobtrusive lesson about valuing differences into this tale of doggy devotion, her fifth featuring the ever-popular Martha. Read full book review >