Search Results: "Susan Orlean"


BOOK REVIEW

RIN TIN TIN by Susan Orlean
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"Although occasionally excessive in its claims for the ultimate significance of it all, a terrific dog's tale that will make readers sit up and beg for more."
New Yorker staff writer Orlean (My Kind of Place: Travel Stories from a Woman Who's Been Everywhere, 2004, etc.) follows the long and curious trail of the celebrity dog born on a World War I battlefield. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ORCHID THIEF by Susan Orlean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 1999

"As for everyone else, there's little or no narrative drive to keep all the facts and mini-narratives flowing. (Author tour)"
Expanded from a New Yorker article, this long-winded if well-informed tale has less to do with John Laroche, the "thief," than it does with our author's desire to craft a comprehensive natural and social history of what the Victorians called "orchidelirium." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 5, 2004

"A gathering of savories, many revelatory, each a delight and a small work of art."
Smooth and snazzy collection of travel and set pieces from New Yorker staffer Orlean (The Bullfighter Checks Her Makeup, 2001, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST AMERICAN ESSAYS 2005 by Susan Orlean
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 5, 2005

"Makes up for 12 months' worth of missed magazines in one fell swoop."
Guest editor Orlean shakes some dust off this valuable 20-year-old series, serving up a tasty sampler of the year's more ruminative writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 26, 2001

"Well-paced and good-humored: a page-turner."
A collection of vivid, engaging profiles written over the past decade by New Yorker staff writer Orlean (The Orchid Thief, 1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAZY LITTLE LOAFERS by Susan Orlean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"A chuckle-inducing rant in the fine old tradition of Martha Alexander's Nobody Asked Me If I Wanted A Baby Sister (1971). (Picture book. 6-8)"
Struggling off to school beneath a huge backpack, a disgruntled child fulminates about how her urban world seems filled with babies lolling idly about. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >