Search Results: "Susan Orlean"


BOOK REVIEW

THE ORCHID THIEF by Susan Orlean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 1, 1999

"As for everyone else, there's little or no narrative drive to keep all the facts and mini-narratives flowing. (Author tour)"
Expanded from a New Yorker article, this long-winded if well-informed tale has less to do with John Laroche, the "thief," than it does with our author's desire to craft a comprehensive natural and social history of what the Victorians called "orchidelirium." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 5, 2004

"A gathering of savories, many revelatory, each a delight and a small work of art."
Smooth and snazzy collection of travel and set pieces from New Yorker staffer Orlean (The Bullfighter Checks Her Makeup, 2001, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

RIN TIN TIN by Susan Orlean
NON-FICTION
Released: Oct. 4, 2011

"Although occasionally excessive in its claims for the ultimate significance of it all, a terrific dog's tale that will make readers sit up and beg for more."
New Yorker staff writer Orlean (My Kind of Place: Travel Stories from a Woman Who's Been Everywhere, 2004, etc.) follows the long and curious trail of the celebrity dog born on a World War I battlefield. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 26, 2001

"Well-paced and good-humored: a page-turner."
A collection of vivid, engaging profiles written over the past decade by New Yorker staff writer Orlean (The Orchid Thief, 1999). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BEST AMERICAN ESSAYS 2005 by Susan Orlean
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Oct. 5, 2005

"Makes up for 12 months' worth of missed magazines in one fell swoop."
Guest editor Orlean shakes some dust off this valuable 20-year-old series, serving up a tasty sampler of the year's more ruminative writing. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAZY LITTLE LOAFERS by Susan Orlean
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2008

"A chuckle-inducing rant in the fine old tradition of Martha Alexander's Nobody Asked Me If I Wanted A Baby Sister (1971). (Picture book. 6-8)"
Struggling off to school beneath a huge backpack, a disgruntled child fulminates about how her urban world seems filled with babies lolling idly about. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

SLIPPER AND FLIPPER IN THE QUEST FOR THE GOLDEN SUN by Susan Reagan
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 22, 2015

"Delightful art can't save this problematic exploration. (Picture book. 5-8) "
Two penguin siblings, Slipper and Flipper, have grown up idolizing their famous forebear, helmet-wearing Spanish explorer Don Pingüino, and want to emulate him. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

COLORS by Susan Steggall
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2015

"Aside from the spinnable color wheel insert at the end of the book, there is little here to hold the attention of even the most digger-crazy toddler. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Another contribution to the crowded field of big-truck picture books, with a focus on color. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS by Susan Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"A whimsical, magical interpretation of a holiday classic, improved by the additional storyline and the charming narrator. (artist's note) (Picture book. 3-7)"
Jeffers has created a lovely story incorporating the words of the old folk song with one important change: a clever substitution of Santa as the giver of all the gifts instead of the narrator's "true love." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PEBBLE by Susan Milord
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 1, 2007

"But the overly sentimental story will need the right audience. (Picture book. 5-8)"
The subtitle immediately lets readers young and old know the lay of the land: This is a story that wants to direct, even control, emotional response. Read full book review >