Search Results: "Susan Shillinglaw"


BOOK REVIEW

Released: Feb. 4, 2002

"More than his familiar, iconic fiction, this collection conveys a real sense of one of our best—and best-loved—writers."
February of next year is the centennial of Steinbeck's birth and, along with new Penguin editions of six of his novels, Viking is offering up this collection from the other, lesser-known, side of his career. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ON READING <i>THE GRAPES OF WRATH</i> by Susan Shillinglaw
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Feb. 19, 2014

"An uneven celebration mainly for Steinbeck scholars and fans."
A compact primer from a Steinbeck scholar on what she believes is one of the greatest works in the history of literature. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHILDREN'S
Released: March 19, 2001

"Fascinating. (suggested reading, glossary, dinosaur dictionary, index) (Nonfiction. 10-14)"
What kind of parent was Tyrannosaurus rex? Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PIZZA IN PIENZA by Susan Fillion
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 28, 2013

"Both tasty and just filling enough, just like a slice of pizza Margherita. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
A little Tuscan girl introduces readers to her hometown of Pienza and her favorite food, pizza. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHT LIGHTS by Susan Gal
Kirkus Star
by Susan Gal, illustrated by Susan Gal
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 10, 2009

"The many warm renderings of light—the glow from a reading light, the comfort of the night-light and the peacefulness of the moonlight—reveal the loveliness of a night spent with an affectionate family. (Picture book. 3-6)"
For this family of three—mother, daughter and pup—the everyday events of an evening take on special meaning in this debut author/illustrator's capable hands. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THREE ABOUT THURSTON by Susan Milord
ANIMALS
Released: April 4, 2005

"The artwork catches Thurston in all his pomposity—watercolors that feel like statements from Thurston's soapbox—throwing a broad, ironic humor over the proceedings. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Milord manages to pack three short riffs on the waggish, self-assured rooster Thurston into this quick picture book. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH’S WALKING STICK by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 29, 2005

"Meddaugh's droll, economical prose is matched to perfection by her wonderfully expository artwork. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Meddaugh's wacky, and highly pleasurable, Cinderella-like tale doesn't need any prince for Margaret (as our Cinderella is known) to escape the demands of her lazy and cruel siblings, just a near-spent magic walking stick. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARTHA AND SKITS by Susan Meddaugh
ANIMALS
Released: Sept. 1, 2000

"If it flies or floats, it's history. (Picture book. 5-7)"
Meddaugh tucks an unobtrusive lesson about valuing differences into this tale of doggy devotion, her fifth featuring the ever-popular Martha. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY MOMMY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 15, 2002

"Cozy and comforting, Paradis's tale is a testament to a mother's devotion and a joy to read. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Paradis (My Daddy, 1998) turns her keen eye towards the unique bonds shared by mother and child. Read full book review >