Search Results: "Susan Spann"


BOOK REVIEW

THE NINJA'S DAUGHTER by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"The fourth in this entertaining series (Flask of the Drunken Master, 2015, etc.) is a nicely balanced combination of mystery, political machinations, and Japanese customs."
A 16th-century ninja and priest make an oddly effective pair of sleuths. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETRAYAL AT IGA by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 11, 2017

"The two unlikely sleuths (The Ninja's Daughter, 2016, etc.) once again solve a difficult crime, this one with the extra kick that comes from their own personal stake in its outcome."
A return to his home is a painful experience for a shinobi assassin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAWS OF THE CAT by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 16, 2013

"Spann's debut provides an absorbing look at Japanese culture along with a sharp mystery. First of a planned series."
In 16th-century Japan, a ninja must solve a murder or a priest will die. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLASK OF THE DRUNKEN MASTER by Susan Spann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 14, 2015

"Like earlier series entries, this one is most likely to interest readers with tastes for political intrigue in 16th-century Japan and red herrings."
Hattori Hiroand his partner in crime-solving take on the case of a murdered brewer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLADE OF THE SAMURAI by Susan Spann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 15, 2014

"Hiro and Father Mateo's second adventure (Claws of the Cat, 2013) combines enlightenment on 16th-century Japanese life with a sharp and well-integrated mystery."
A master ninja's sleuthing skills involve him in a dangerous plot to kill the shogun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A Rebel West by Jan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 11, 2014

"A novel of 19th-century America driven by strong characters but hampered by narrative and historical shortcomings."
In Spann's debut historical novel, an extended family finds a home in California and Kansas in the decade following the Civil War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRETTY IS AS PRETTY DIES by Elizabeth Spann Craig
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Craig's debut is a mildly amusing sample of small-town Southern hospitality, awash with sweet tea and fried food."
An octogenarian solves a murder to prove a point. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >