Search Results: "Susan Spann"


BOOK REVIEW

BLADE OF THE SAMURAI by Susan Spann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 15, 2014

"Hiro and Father Mateo's second adventure (Claws of the Cat, 2013) combines enlightenment on 16th-century Japanese life with a sharp and well-integrated mystery."
A master ninja's sleuthing skills involve him in a dangerous plot to kill the shogun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CLAWS OF THE CAT by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 16, 2013

"Spann's debut provides an absorbing look at Japanese culture along with a sharp mystery. First of a planned series."
In 16th-century Japan, a ninja must solve a murder or a priest will die. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE NINJA'S DAUGHTER by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"The fourth in this entertaining series (Flask of the Drunken Master, 2015, etc.) is a nicely balanced combination of mystery, political machinations, and Japanese customs."
A 16th-century ninja and priest make an oddly effective pair of sleuths. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FLASK OF THE DRUNKEN MASTER by Susan Spann
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 14, 2015

"Like earlier series entries, this one is most likely to interest readers with tastes for political intrigue in 16th-century Japan and red herrings."
Hattori Hiroand his partner in crime-solving take on the case of a murdered brewer. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BETRAYAL AT IGA by Susan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 11, 2017

"The two unlikely sleuths (The Ninja's Daughter, 2016, etc.) once again solve a difficult crime, this one with the extra kick that comes from their own personal stake in its outcome."
A return to his home is a painful experience for a shinobi assassin. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A Rebel West by Jan Spann
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 11, 2014

"A novel of 19th-century America driven by strong characters but hampered by narrative and historical shortcomings."
In Spann's debut historical novel, an extended family finds a home in California and Kansas in the decade following the Civil War. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PRETTY IS AS PRETTY DIES by Elizabeth Spann Craig
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Aug. 1, 2009

"Craig's debut is a mildly amusing sample of small-town Southern hospitality, awash with sweet tea and fried food."
An octogenarian solves a murder to prove a point. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUSAN SONTAG
by Michael Valinsky

In her new short story collection, Debriefing, Susan Sontag showcases her incredible skill at drawing readers in through jarring narrative gestures, confusing character arcs, and an unremittingly flirtatious tendency to poke fun at the possibilities of the imagination. “As a young writer Sontag wasn’t interested in the more conventional kind of fiction that was based in scene-making. She was after ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >