Search Results: "Susan Spencer-Wendel"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 12, 2013

"A poignant, wise love story."
With the assistance of Witter (Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him, 2011, etc.), crime reporter Spencer-Wendel chronicles her life and the decisions she has made since being diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2012

"An appealing mix of baseball and cultural history."
During one of the most tumultuous years in our history, a remarkable baseball season unfolded. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CASTRO'S CURVEBALL by Tim Wendel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"A superbly crafted meditation on heroism, duty, and the irony derived from recognizing everyone's imperfections but your own."
A wry, ruefully nostalgic debut novel from USA Today sportswriter Wendel (Going for the Gold, 1980) puts a naive American baseball player on a misguided quest for heroism as he tries to persuade a young Fidel Castro to pitch for the Washington Senators. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 10, 2003

"No great surprises here—but deeply affecting and impressive under one roof. (16-page color photo insert, not seen)"
A workmanlike overview of the giant contribution Latinos have made to the game of baseball. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWEETEST HEIST IN HISTORY by Octavia Spencer
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2015

"Good sleuthing fun supported by compelling character arcs. (spy tips, crafts, recipes) (Mystery. 8-12)"
Deer Creek's middle school ninja detectives of The Case of the Time-Capsule Bandit (2013) take on crime in New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE FEDOROVICH FILE by Ross Spencer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 1991

"Very strained, but old pro Spencer keeps it all moving with spurts of narrative gusto."
Leaden follow-up to the lighthearted, ebullient The Devereaux File (1990), which introduced Ohio p.i. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A DEATH LEFT HANGING by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 1, 2003

"Spencer's latest is her best: an ingenious puzzle that goes straight to the heart."
Once again, Chief Inspector Charlie Woodend's superiors hand him a real career-buster: the 30-year-old bludgeoning of salesman Fred Dodds, for which his wife has already been hanged. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH MAKER by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2004

"The dark secrets behind the bright flames make Spencer's latest a first-class chiller."
Still fascinated by fire, Spencer goes from Guy Fawkes revelry (The Enemy Within, 2003) to serious witch-burnings as Charlie Woodend finds a town so inbred even his stubborn cloggin-it can't make a dent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKSTONE AND THE ENDGAME by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Nov. 1, 2013

"Packed with portents, Blackstone's ninth takes a nicely shaped puzzle and inflates it until it's as gassy as one of the Kaiser's zeppelins."
International intrigue takes its toll on Inspector Sam Blackstone (Blackstone and the Great War, 2012, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE ENEMY WITHIN by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"Spencer's careful balance of menace from without and within makes her latest a standout among her reliably entertaining procedurals."
Chief Inspector Charlie Woodend has more than his share of help and more than his share of problems as he tracks a killer who's been preparing for Guy Fawkes Night by stashing corpses in the bonfires. Read full book review >