Search Results: "Susan Spencer-Wendel"


BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 12, 2013

"A poignant, wise love story."
With the assistance of Witter (Until Tuesday: A Wounded Warrior and the Golden Retriever Who Saved Him, 2011, etc.), crime reporter Spencer-Wendel chronicles her life and the decisions she has made since being diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2012

"An appealing mix of baseball and cultural history."
During one of the most tumultuous years in our history, a remarkable baseball season unfolded. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CASTRO'S CURVEBALL by Tim Wendel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"A superbly crafted meditation on heroism, duty, and the irony derived from recognizing everyone's imperfections but your own."
A wry, ruefully nostalgic debut novel from USA Today sportswriter Wendel (Going for the Gold, 1980) puts a naive American baseball player on a misguided quest for heroism as he tries to persuade a young Fidel Castro to pitch for the Washington Senators. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 10, 2003

"No great surprises here—but deeply affecting and impressive under one roof. (16-page color photo insert, not seen)"
A workmanlike overview of the giant contribution Latinos have made to the game of baseball. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SUSAN SONTAG
by Michael Valinsky

In her new short story collection, Debriefing, Susan Sontag showcases her incredible skill at drawing readers in through jarring narrative gestures, confusing character arcs, and an unremittingly flirtatious tendency to poke fun at the possibilities of the imagination. “As a young writer Sontag wasn’t interested in the more conventional kind of fiction that was based in scene-making. She was after ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SWEETEST HEIST IN HISTORY by Octavia Spencer
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 31, 2015

"Good sleuthing fun supported by compelling character arcs. (spy tips, crafts, recipes) (Mystery. 8-12)"
Deer Creek's middle school ninja detectives of The Case of the Time-Capsule Bandit (2013) take on crime in New York City. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SHIVERING TURN by Sally Spencer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2017

"Although not quite the equal of her seasoned mentor, Spencer's Oxford grad gets full marks for persistence and ingenuity in her engaging debut."
Spencer kicks off a new franchise with the disappearance of a Thames Valley schoolgirl. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLACKSTONE AND THE WOLF OF WALL STREET by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 2010

"The case of the banker in the bunker provides enough wit, puzzlement and class warfare to delight the most devoted Blackstone fan."
Marooned in the United States, Inspector Sam Blackstone investigates the kidnapping of a business tycoon. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE WITCH MAKER by Sally Spencer
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 1, 2004

"The dark secrets behind the bright flames make Spencer's latest a first-class chiller."
Still fascinated by fire, Spencer goes from Guy Fawkes revelry (The Enemy Within, 2003) to serious witch-burnings as Charlie Woodend finds a town so inbred even his stubborn cloggin-it can't make a dent. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TIPPING POINT OF OLIVER BASS by Larry Spencer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 24, 2017

"A page-turning mystery with a frustrating protagonist from a veteran storyteller."
A pathologically arrogant, wealthy young man sets off on a journey of self-discovery, family tragedy, and sexual conquest in Spencer's modern California noir debut. Read full book review >