Search Results: "Susan Stinson"


BOOK REVIEW

SPIDER IN A TREE by Susan Stinson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 15, 2013

"Stinson, whose impeccable research dominates the book, might have had more success presenting her documentation as a biography rather than attempting a fictionalized version of Edwards' life: The one-dimensional characters and excerpts from his writings are no more engaging than required reading in a high school textbook."
Stinson's (Venus of Chalk, 2004, etc.) novel about the life of 18th-century theologian Jonathan Edwards offers readers a heavy-handed dose of old-time religion. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TRAYNOR LEGACY by David Stinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 15, 2005

"Though the working-out is complicated and occasionally repetitious, readers will probably want to know how Stinson's debut turns out."
A mugging gone bad, or murder most calculated? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TV SAFE by Jim Stinson
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Sept. 1, 1991

Would-be Hollywood filmmaker Stoney Winston (the genially goofy Truck Shot, etc.) is now employed as a writer/gofer on the TV game show Oh-Pun Sesame!, where someone is feeding the answers to one of the contestants. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

EVEN FAIRIES FART by Jennifer Stinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 8, 2017

"These fairies fall flat. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Are fairy tales really as perfect as they seem? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MAN WITH THE VIOLIN by Kathy Stinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 16, 2013

"Imaginatively illustrated and beautifully written, this offbeat ode to the power of music is a winner. (author's note) (Picture book. 5-9)"
A Stradivarius on the subway? This Canadian import tells the story of violinist Joshua Bell's quirky experiment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DANCE OF THE VIOLIN by Kathy Stinson
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 14, 2017

"A joyful reminder that perseverance pays off, especially when you let out the artist within. (Picture book/biography. 5-8)"
The early life of renowned violinist Joshua Bell is portrayed in a lively fashion. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >