Search Results: "Susan Stockdale"


BOOK REVIEW

SPECTACULAR SPOTS by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2015

"Despite a blotch or two, a spot-on animal gallery for budding naturalists. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
In this companion to the animal gallery in Stripes of All Types (2013), Stockdale focuses her spotlight.Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

STRIPES OF ALL TYPES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2013

"A lovely, interactive exploration of stripes and a good introduction to some new animals. (Informational picture book. 2-6)"
Stockdale's feast for the eyes explores the stripes found in the animal world. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FANTASTIC FLOWERS by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2017

"This is a book to closely pore over—perhaps before a trip to the park or a botanical garden for real-life practice. (Informational picture book. 4-8)"
The unique shapes and patterns of 17 exotic and common flowers are exhibited in this optically striking display that points to the plants' visual similarities to other objects, animals, or people. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FABULOUS FISHES by Susan Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2008

"Includes an informative note for easy identification of each species pictured, as well as a brief bibliography for beginning researchers. (Picture book. 2-6)"
Fish of all sorts—tropical and freshwater, smooth and spiky, large and small, schooled and solitary, easy-to-spot and camouflaged—dive and swim through this likable, resonant rhyme that emphasizes outstanding features of each species. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CARRY ME! by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2005

"Sure to become a calm and soothing bedtime favorite. (Nonfiction. 2-5)"
A beautifully sweet look at how babies are carried, from insects and birds, to mammals and fish, and ultimately to how your own mother carried you. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SOME SLEEP STANDING UP by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1996

"Stockdale's first book shows promise. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Some Sleep Standing Up ($13.00; May 1, 1996; 28 pp.; 0-689-80509- 8): In a soothing bedtime book, some sleepy animals and a spare text—a short line per page—show that there are many ways to slumber and many synonyms for sleep: rest, relax, snore, snooze, drowse, nap, etc. In a quiet, lilting text, the words often rhyme, not always smoothly. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAX THE CHAMPION by Sean Stockdale
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 15, 2014

"This is not a subtle book, but its heart is absolutely in the right place. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A sports-obsessed boy makes his way through his day in winning style. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BLOG POST

A STUDY IN MUST-READ AUTHORS
by Bobbi Dumas

So you all are Sherry Thomas fans, right?

I sincerely hope so! She’s seriously one of the smartest writers out there, and for whatever reason, her novels hit all my romance buttons. 

Last fall she released A Study in Scarlet Women, an intriguing new take on the Sherlock Holmes canon. (It got a great review and was named one ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >