Search Results: "Susan Tekulve"


BOOK REVIEW

IN THE GARDEN OF STONE by Susan Tekulve
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 1, 2013

"Lyrical, haunting literary fiction."
It is 1924. Up in West Virginia's coal country, in a town called War, young Emma awakens one morning to find her house buried in the debris of an overturned rail car. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

CLASS PETS by Susan Nees
by Susan Nees, illustrated by Susan Nees
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 1, 2013

"An amusing and attractive early chapter book that will be popular with girls anxious to project reading competency to competing classmates. (Fiction. 5-7)"
Flamboyant, self-confident Missy is back for a second outing for transitioning readers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BRING ON THE BIRDS by Susan Stockdale
ANIMALS
Released: Feb. 1, 2011

"Broader in geographical range and even simpler in design, this makes a natural follow-up to Lois Ehlert's Feathers for Lunch (1990) as a primary introduction to our avian cousins. (bibliography) (Informational picture book. 2-4)"
Over rhyming captions that only occasionally exceed three or four words, Stockdale presents painted portraits of 21 wild birds. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY
Released: July 25, 2011

"This appealing work stands as both a portrait of two unconventional women and a celebration of the possibilities of arts patronage. (author/illustrator's note, bibliography, sources) (Biography. 10-14)"
An affectionate, lively examination of the reciprocal relationship between a great artist and two great art lovers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MY DADDY by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 21, 1998

"Poignant and stimulating. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Paradis uses a young boy's narration to convey his awe and adulation of his father, a perspective echoed in the illustrations. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUST TEENIE by Susan Meddaugh
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 10, 2006

"It's just a matter of angle and perspective, like life and the pursuit of happiness. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Life is about perspective, suggests Meddaugh in this tale of a little girl—a really little girl—who'd not only like to grow up, she'd just like to plain grow. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SNOW PRINCESS by Susan Paradis
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 30, 2005

"The pictures capture all the opalescence of daylight and sunset on a snowy landscape, and Paradis shows a fine sense not only of line and pattern, but of the rhythms of the imagination. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A pretty and charming tale about snow, imagination and waiting for Daddy to come home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

I CAN by Susan Winter
by Susan Winter, illustrated by Susan Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Still, an attractive, authentic picture of early childhood. (Picture book. 2-6)"
One of two simple books contrasting a preschooler with his toddler sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FIREWORKS by Susan Kuklin
by Susan Kuklin, photographed by Susan Kuklin
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 4, 1996

"The subject of fireworks, however, is so inherently exhilarating that readers will easily forgive her for getting a little carried away. (Nonfiction. 6-10)"
Young and old alike will enjoy meeting the Gruccis, dubbed ``The First Family of Fireworks,'' and learning all the details involved in staging a fireworks show. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT YOU by Susan Farrington
CHILDREN'S
Released: Dec. 1, 2016

"This could be a conversation starter about the manifestation of love between an adult-child reading pair…once they've parsed the attention-getting artwork. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Farrington's picture-book debut looks at all the things an adult caregiver loves about a child. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BEYOND MAGENTA by Susan Kuklin
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Feb. 11, 2014

"Informative, revealing, powerful and necessary. (author's note, glossary, resource list) (Nonfiction. 12 & up)"
Kuklin (No Choirboy, 2008, etc.) brings her intimate, compassionate and respectful lens to the stories of six transgender young people. Read full book review >