Search Results: "Susan Winter"


BOOK REVIEW

I CAN by Susan Winter
by Susan Winter, illustrated by Susan Winter
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 1993

"Still, an attractive, authentic picture of early childhood. (Picture book. 2-6)"
One of two simple books contrasting a preschooler with his toddler sister. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE MONKEY’S ONE SAFE PLACE by Richard Edwards
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2006

"Children should identify with Little Monkey's curiosity and enjoy his adventure, but the story would have been stronger if Little Monkey learned his lesson himself as a result of his journey. (Picture book. 3-6)"
An adorable jungle swinger learns a valuable lesson. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MOMMY’S BEST KISSES by Margaret Anastas
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2003

"A wonderful anytime choice for encouraging head-to-toe kisses. (Picture book. 3-6)"
Pink knees, soft necks, and round tummies beg to be kissed again and again in this sweet rhyming celebration of the love of mothers for their babies. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ALWAYS COPYCUB by Richard Edwards
ANIMALS
Released: March 1, 2002

"A loving tale that successfully conveys a vital message for little ones. (Picture book. 3-7)"
A playful bear cub frolics with his mother in this endearing, but cautionary, tale about the perils of playing tricks on mama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SAILING OFF TO SLEEP by Linda Ashman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2001

"A tender read-a-loud that ends comfortingly in mother's arms and then snuggled into bed. (Picture book. 3-6)"
In this before-bed adventure, a mother and daughter build a story together. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GOOD NIGHT, COPYCUB by Richard Edwards
ANIMALS
Released: Jan. 1, 2004

"An effective soother for restless toddlers. (Picture book. 3-5)"
In this snooze-inducing companion to Copy Me, Copycub (1999) and Always Copycub (2002), a mother bear takes her wakeful youngling on an imaginary nighttime stroll, past a sleeping goose drifting on a moonlit lake, a moose sacked out beneath a tree, and a hare sprawled out in the grass. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LITTLE OTTER’S BIG JOURNEY by David Bedford
ANIMALS
Released: Oct. 1, 2006

"A comforting, if cautionary, tale. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A little otter overcomes big fears in this gentle tale from Bedford. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HUSH, LITTLE PUPPY by April Pulley Sayre
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"Though the story can be sung to the tune of 'Hush, Little Baby,' the text actually works better if read rather than sung, as some of the phrases don't exactly fit the rhythm of the lullaby. (Picture book. 3-5)"
A little boy in blue pajamas repeatedly tries to settle his golden retriever puppy down for the night in this sweet but predictable bedtime story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

HENRY'S BABY by Mary Hoffman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 1993

Henry yearns to be one of a group of boys who seem to be special: Skif is ``trendy''; ``The Prof [is] a computer-head''; ``Zip'' is a whiz at sports; Jake is really tough. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

IF YOU HAD A NOSE LIKE AN ELEPHANT’S TRUNK by Marion Dane Bauer
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 15, 2001

"Compare this to Jean Marzollo's and Jerry Pinkney's Pretend You're a Cat (1990) and know that this is a truly missed opportunity. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A young girl explores the fantasy of what she could do if she had the trunk of an elephant, the feet of a fly, the tongue of a snapping turtle, the jaw of a snake, or the spinnerets of a spider. Read full book review >

BLOG POST

JONAH WINTER
by Alex Heimbach

In November 1942, the U.S. Department of Energy bought a boys school in Los Alamos, New Mexico, and turned it into the site of a top-secret project. Scientists from all over the world gathered at the lab to build a weapon that would end the war. Almost two years later, they took their new weapon out into the desert ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

FASHIONING A FRIENDSHIP
by Leila Roy

I sat back and considered my words. They had to be enough to get me in. After all, I alluded to the loss of my mom without mentioning any of the désagréables details, and I talked about the constant moving without getting into the foster homes and the times we’ve lived in the car. I think it is best not ...
Read the full post >