Search Results: "Susan Wittig Albert"


BOOK REVIEW

Loving Eleanor by Susan Wittig Albert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 2016

"This warm, extensively researched novel will entrance readers and inspire them to look further into the lives of two extraordinary women."
New York Times bestselling author Albert (The Darling Dahlias and the Silver Dollar Bush, 2015, etc.) returns to historical fiction in this intimate exploration of the relationship between Eleanor Roosevelt and journalist Lorena Hickok. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: June 3, 2003

"Minimal sleuthing, poorly tended plots, but the green-thumb crowd will probably be charmed by the gardening tidbits in those lushly planted sidebars."
Ever-so-slight tales, six reworked from Country Living Gardener magazine's Web site, featuring pudgy middle-aged sleuth China Bayles, Texas herb-store proprietor, and her chums. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

INDIGO DYING by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Jan. 7, 2003

"China brews a restful—some might say soporific—cup of herbal tea for her fans, while Wittig earnestly shares her research into a rainbow of folklore, herbalist traditions, and strip-mining."
Herbalist China Bayles (Bloodroot, 2001, etc.) has launched a series of workshops about dyeing textiles with natural ingredients with her old friend Allie Selby, who raises angora goats and grows dye-producing plants on a farm near a little town called Indigo. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE GENERAL’S WOMEN by Susan Wittig Albert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: March 7, 2017

"A genuinely involving example of that rarest of birds: first-rate historical fiction about Eisenhower."
A work focuses on Dwight D. Eisenhower, his wartime mistress, and his wife. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BITTERSWEET by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 7, 2015

"Not the best of China's many cases (Cat's Claw, 2012, etc.) but a compelling look at the ethics of canned hunting."
An herbal expert and a game warden pool their knowledge to solve a crime. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A Wilder Rose by Susan Wittig Albert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013

"With all of the charm of the Little House series—and the benefit of a sophisticated, adult worldview—Albert's novel is an absolute pleasure."
This pitch-perfect novel reimagines the life of Rose Wilder Lane, co-author of Little House on the Prairie. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLEEDING HEARTS by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 4, 2006

"China's followers will delight in the complicated relationships, recipes and historical flower information."
In Pecan Springs, Tex., football is king and Coach Tim Duffy is prince—but he may also be a sexual predator. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE TALE OF THE HOLLY HOW by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: July 5, 2005

"Albert (Dead Man's Bones, p. 259, etc.) provides enchantment for fans of Beatrix Potter and Sneaky Pie Brown, and anyone else who likes mysteries that are easy to solve."
Murder interrupts Beatrix Potter's latest visit to her beloved Hill Top Farm in England's Lake District. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LAVENDER LIES by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 11, 1999

"If you really burn with suspense about the wedding, though, you'll have to wait till that last chapter. (Author tour)"
As her marriage to Pecan Springs (Texas) Acting Police Chief Michael McQuaid looms, lawyer-turned-herbalist China Bayles wrestles with floral arrangements, musical selections, and her eighth murder case (Chile Death, 1998, etc.). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WITCHES' BANE by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: Oct. 1, 1993

"But ever so trendy—much dysfunctional family psychobabble— and even mystery novices will spot the villain early on."
Tiny Pecan Springs, Texas, to which lawyer China Bayles retreated from the fast track—opening an herb-and-spice shop next to best friend Ruby's New Age emporium—is suddenly astir with cross burnings, ritual sacrifices, and sightings (and denunciations) of witches. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NIGHTSHADE by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 1, 2008

"The conclusion to the trilogy exploring China's relationship with her father (Spanish Dagger, 2007, etc.) does a fine job of bringing together all the bits and pieces, even for those who have not read the first two installments."
A fresh fatality forces China Bayles, herbalist, ex-lawyer and amateur sleuth, to confront the mystery of her emotionally distant father's death. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

DEAD MAN’S BONES by Susan Wittig Albert
MYSTERY THRILLER
Released: April 5, 2005

"Devotees of China's adventures (Indigo Dying, 2003, etc.) will enjoy more quality time with the denizens of Pecan Springs. Even newcomers who don't get into the Texas Hill Country spirit will pick up some recipes and a lot of herbal lore."
The latest interruption in the lives of China Bayles, Esq., her best bud Ruby Wilcox, her husband, college teacher/private eye Mike McQuaid, and his son Brian, 14, is . . . Brian's discovery of skeletal remains at an archaeological site. Read full book review >