Search Results: "Suzanne Marie Phillips"


BOOK REVIEW

LINDSEY LOST by Suzanne Marie Phillips
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Readers looking for a twisty, satisfying mystery should look elsewhere. (Mystery. 12-15)"
Life, death and suspicion in the pressure cooker of high-stakes teen athletics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"A wonderful story that brings us deep into that moment when America made race music its own and gave rise to the rock sound now heard around the world."
A monumental biography of the larger-than-life loner who fought for the acceptance of black music and discovered an extraordinary group of poor, country-boy singers whose records would transform American popular culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MR PHILLIPS by John Lanchester
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 10, 2000

"Lanchester's capable, knowledgeable, revelatory homage to Mrs. Woolf and Mr. Joyce (and even to Mr. Eliot's 'unreal city') is one of them."
Following up on his successful cookbook-cum-mystery (The Debt to Pleasure, 1996), Lanchester offers an end-of-the-century version of Mrs. Dalloway—with results as brilliantly captivating as Michael Cunningham's were in The Hours. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SUZANNE VALADON by June Rose
NON-FICTION
Released: Feb. 25, 1999

In this entertaining and informative book, Rose (Modigliani: The Pure Bohemian, 1991) chronicles the tumultuous life of a French woman whose exceptional talent and determination earned her the admiration of her more famous contemporaries. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHLOE DOE by Suzanne Phillips
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins. (Fiction. YA)"
"Doe" is the last name Chloe has adopted for herself, a label of anonymity that separates her from her mother and her mother's string of worthless boyfriends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN by Suzanne Phillips
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"The issue of how culpable he is for his later actions is also deftly dramatized, but it is far more ambiguous and complex, and will give teen readers something to ponder. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Like a traffic accident you can see coming a mile off and then can't look away from, Phillips's cautionary tale horrifies and disturbs as it rolls out the story of a bullied ninth-grade boy who, after being pushed to the wall, finally explodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 10, 2007

"Not for the pious, but lots of fun for everyone else."
In this disarmingly matter-of-fact farce, the London-based author's debut, the gods of Olympus are living in London and running the world with increasingly diminished powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARIE CURIE by Isabel Sánchez Vegara
by Isabel Sánchez Vegara, illustrated by Frau Isa, translated by Emma Martinez
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 2, 2017

"Like other tributes in the series, adequate fare for cluing newer readers in on some worthy role models. (Picture book/biography. 5-7)"
A very first introduction to the great scientist. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TI MARIE by Valerie Belgrave
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 1, 2007

"The result is a lush period romance in a troubled tropical paradise."
Racism, revolution and love roil the Caribbean island of Trinidad in this sprawling historical melodrama. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARIE ANTOINETTE by Antonia Fraser
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 18, 2001

"Antoinette's story isn't really a tragedy—but Fraser somehow makes it seem like one."
A biography of a queen who never said, as legend has it, "Let them eat cake." Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MARIE, DANCING by Carolyn Meyer
FICTION
Released: Oct. 1, 2005

"Her modeling leads to a fascination with Degas' art and that of Mary Cassatt, a friend of Degas, while her love interests and her unwillingness to become a mistress of a rich man add flavor to the tale. (Fiction 12+)"
The Paris of Degas and the Impressionists was a vibrant and exciting time of artistic accomplishment. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PROTECTING MARIE by Kevin Henkes
ANIMALS
Released: May 1, 1995

"As in Henkes's other novels (and in contrast to his picture books), the glacial, evenly modulated plot requires patient readers; the reward is a cast of good-hearted, strongly individual characters moving through a simply told but multilayered story, rich in imagery and feeling. (Fiction. 11-13)"
A slow, meaty story of an autocratic father and his strong- minded daughter looking for ways to break through the reserve that keeps them from expressing their mutual love and respect. Read full book review >