Search Results: "Suzanne Marie Phillips"


BOOK REVIEW

LINDSEY LOST by Suzanne Marie Phillips
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Readers looking for a twisty, satisfying mystery should look elsewhere. (Mystery. 12-15)"
Life, death and suspicion in the pressure cooker of high-stakes teen athletics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHLOE DOE by Suzanne Phillips
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins. (Fiction. YA)"
"Doe" is the last name Chloe has adopted for herself, a label of anonymity that separates her from her mother and her mother's string of worthless boyfriends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN by Suzanne Phillips
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"The issue of how culpable he is for his later actions is also deftly dramatized, but it is far more ambiguous and complex, and will give teen readers something to ponder. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Like a traffic accident you can see coming a mile off and then can't look away from, Phillips's cautionary tale horrifies and disturbs as it rolls out the story of a bullied ninth-grade boy who, after being pushed to the wall, finally explodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 10, 2007

"Not for the pious, but lots of fun for everyone else."
In this disarmingly matter-of-fact farce, the London-based author's debut, the gods of Olympus are living in London and running the world with increasingly diminished powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWO WEEKS IN VIEQUES by Marie Suzanne Dillon
Released: July 19, 2010

"A sunny Caribbean backdrop brightens this loving look at family."
In her memoir and first book, Dillon tells of her 18-day trip with her two sisters to Vieques, an island off Puerto Rico, while reflecting on a life augmented by a loving, quirky family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZEUS AND THE THUNDERBOLT OF DOOM by Joan Holub
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Readers will gobble this down and look for more, make no mythtake. (Fantasy. 9-11)"
Promising myth-adventures aplenty, this kickoff episode introduces young Zeus, "a very special, yet clueless godboy." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

GIN PHILLIPS
by Megan Labrise

Gin Phillips had no intention of writing summer’s most scintillating literary thriller.

“I wanted to write a book about motherhood,” Phillips says of Fierce Kingdom, the story of a mother and four-year-old son trapped in their local zoo by an active shooter event.

“I was aware it was a faster plot than I normally focus on,” she says ...


Read the full post >

BOOK REVIEW

A SPLENDID FRIEND, INDEED by Suzanne Bloom
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 1, 2005

"Bear's ursine fuzziness against a background of deep blues and Goose's small awkward, overeager self make an adorable contrast. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A more perfect union between giggle-inducing but reassuring images and a text of very few words is hard to conjure. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WHAT ABOUT BEAR? by Suzanne Bloom
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 15, 2010

"Another splendid outing, indeed. (Picture book. 3-6)"
A small red fox joins playmates Goose and Polar Bear, introduced in A Splendid Friend, Indeed (2005)—setting up a "three's a crowd" conflict that even the still-diapered set will quickly recognize. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FEEDING FRIENDSIES by Suzanne Bloom
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 1, 2011

"Give two green thumbs up for the joy of mud pies everywhere. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Getting dirty has never been so much fun. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SLEEPY SONGBIRD by Suzanne Barton
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 23, 2016

"This sleepy narrative doesn't ever really wake up. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A small bird named Little Peep wants to join the other birds singing at sunrise, but he discovers that he isn't an early riser. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CONFISCATED! by Suzanne Kaufman
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2017

"A good book on sharing and for sharing. (Picture book. 3-7)"
Bickering brothers resolve their differences and recover their confiscated toys. Read full book review >