Search Results: "Suzanne Marie Phillips"


BOOK REVIEW

LINDSEY LOST by Suzanne Marie Phillips
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Sept. 13, 2012

"Readers looking for a twisty, satisfying mystery should look elsewhere. (Mystery. 12-15)"
Life, death and suspicion in the pressure cooker of high-stakes teen athletics. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

CHLOE DOE by Suzanne Phillips
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: June 1, 2007

"This hard look at one life in a lockdown facility may appeal to fans of Adam Rapp and Ellen Hopkins. (Fiction. YA)"
"Doe" is the last name Chloe has adopted for herself, a label of anonymity that separates her from her mother and her mother's string of worthless boyfriends. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BURN by Suzanne Phillips
FICTION
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"The issue of how culpable he is for his later actions is also deftly dramatized, but it is far more ambiguous and complex, and will give teen readers something to ponder. (Fiction. 12 & up)"
Like a traffic accident you can see coming a mile off and then can't look away from, Phillips's cautionary tale horrifies and disturbs as it rolls out the story of a bullied ninth-grade boy who, after being pushed to the wall, finally explodes. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Dec. 10, 2007

"Not for the pious, but lots of fun for everyone else."
In this disarmingly matter-of-fact farce, the London-based author's debut, the gods of Olympus are living in London and running the world with increasingly diminished powers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

TWO WEEKS IN VIEQUES by Marie Suzanne Dillon
Released: July 19, 2010

"A sunny Caribbean backdrop brightens this loving look at family."
In her memoir and first book, Dillon tells of her 18-day trip with her two sisters to Vieques, an island off Puerto Rico, while reflecting on a life augmented by a loving, quirky family. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ZEUS AND THE THUNDERBOLT OF DOOM by Joan Holub
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 7, 2012

"Readers will gobble this down and look for more, make no mythtake. (Fantasy. 9-11)"
Promising myth-adventures aplenty, this kickoff episode introduces young Zeus, "a very special, yet clueless godboy." Read full book review >

BLOG POST

FUTURES MADE OF VIRTUAL INSANITY
by Mandy Wan

BOOK REPORT for Warcross by Marie Lu

Cover Story: Technicolortastic
BFF Charm: Heck Yes!
Swoonworthy Scale:
 6
Talky Talk: Absolute Sci-Fi
Bonus Factors:
 Team Tournament, Cat-and-Mouse, Hackers, Easter Eggs
Relationship Status: Game On

Cover Story: Technicolortastic

Sure, I could dissect the issues I have with this cover. (Why do the innards of the title look like a digital ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

I BET YOU DIDN'T KNOW I WAS DANGEROUS
by Mandy Wan

 

BOOK REPORT for The Young Elites (The Young Elites Book 1) by Marie Lu

Cover Story: The Sword in the Storm
BFF Charm: Caution!
Swoonworthy Scale:
 5
Talky Talk: She Says, Mostly
Bonus Factors:
 X-Men, The Dark Side
Relationship Status: I Wanna Be Bad

 

Cover Story: The Sword in the Storm

No doubt about it, this ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

SOME SUMPTUOUS SUMMER READS
by Bobbi Dumas

It’s the end of July!

In January, I would have thought I’d be in Orlando this week for RWA, but life has a way of happening when we’re making other plans, doesn’t it?

In fact the whole last month has been full of surprises for me, mostly good, some not so good—and while I’ve had to adjust some expectations, overall ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

DREDGING THE WATERS
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for Stone Cove Island by Suzanne Myers

Cover Story: This is (a) Thriller

BFF Charm: Eventually

Swoonworthy Scale: 5

Talky Talk: Good Start

Bonus Factor: Secret Societies

Relationship Status: Let’s Be Friends

Cover Story: This is (a) Thriller

Although it features a young woman rather than a man, this cover is awfully Generic Thriller Book. The typeface ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

BEST BOOKS OF 2017: GIN PHILLIPS
by Megan Labrise

Gin Phillips had no intention of writing summer’s most scintillating literary thriller.

“I wanted to write a book about motherhood,” Phillips says of Fierce Kingdom, the story of a mother and four-year-old son trapped in their local zoo by an active shooter event.

“I was aware it was a faster plot than I normally focus on,” she says ...


Read the full post >

BLOG POST

LOVE YOU TO THE MOON AND BACK
by Mandy Curtis

BOOK REPORT for When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore

Cover Story: Play Set
BFF Charm: Third Wheel
Swoonworthy Scale: 8
Talky Talk: Otherworldly
Trigger Warning: Abuse
Bonus Factors: LGTBQ Characters, Multicultural Magic
Anti-Bonus Factor: Abuse
Relationship Status: Happily Ever After

Cover Story: Play Set

This cover is cute, and features important elements of the story, but it ...


Read the full post >