Search Results: "Suzy Chic"


BOOK REVIEW

WATCHING... by Suzy Chic
by Suzy Chic, illustrated by Monique Touvay, translated by Sarah Adams
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2007

"Even less reflective children will absorb the indirect environmental message. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Suggesting an alternative to the natural pleasures of instant gratification, this understated tale promotes the virtue of waiting to see what happens. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MAGNOLIA CAFÉ by Chic Gast
Released: May 21, 2009

"An affirming mix of compassion and self-realization tempered by sweet-talkin' women and clear-eyed men."
Consummate outsider Jack Teal finds the community he didn't know he was looking for. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

KATE THE GREAT EXCEPT WHEN SHE'S NOT by Suzy Becker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Although amusing and easy to relate to, Kate's fifth-grade experience could use more dramatic flair. (Fiction. 8-12)"
In this heavily illustrated, comic slice-of-life novel aimed at girls, Kate Geller, almost 10, struggles to be a good daughter, sister, friend, student, Junior Guide and flute player. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MANNY’S COWS by Suzy Becker
ANIMALS
Released: June 1, 2006

"Easily the most memorable ruminant retreat since David Kirby and Allen Woodman's The Cows Are Going To Paris (1991), illustrated by Chris Demarest. (Picture book. 6-8)"
Inspired by a teacher's suggestion and weary of the udder sameness of a dairy farmer's year, young Manny impulsively bustles his 500 cows onto buses for an end-of-school excursion to Niagara Falls. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

WINNER TAKES ALL by Suzy Becker
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 1, 2016

"A zippy little visit with a likable 10-year-old. (Fiction. 8-12)"
Ten-year-old Kate juggles new and old friendships. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MASHA AND HER SISTERS by Suzy Ultman
CHILDREN'S
Released: March 7, 2017

"Along with a set of nesting dolls, this sweet book would be a wonderful gift for a special child. (Novelty board book. 1-3)"
This die-cut board book inspired by the Russian matryoshka has doll-shaped cardboard pages, with each page turning downward to present the next, slightly larger "nesting" sibling. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JUDGMENT CALL by Suzy Wetlaufer
Released: July 16, 1992

"A lot of people, even if they don't wait for the reported movie, are going to swallow this overripe fantasy at a sitting."
A reporter's juicy nightmare: Miami Citizen scribe Sherry Estabrook, investigating drugs in a local high school, meets 16-year- old Manuel Velo, who tells her he's iced 18 people (he thinks it's 18) for Mimi Lopez's mob. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MOMENT BEFORE by Suzy Vitello
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Jan. 14, 2014

"Overwrought and half baked. (Fiction. 13 & up)"
After a popular cheerleader plunges to her death, her younger sister forges an unexpected relationship with the boy responsible. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PLAYING FOR THE COMMANDANT by Suzy Zail
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"With fewer living Holocaust survivors each year, it's increasingly important to tell their story, and this is one, however soft-pedaled. (Historical fiction. 11-15)"
A Jewish girl sent to Auschwitz-Birkenau lives because of the whims of a sadistic camp commandant. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Jan. 19, 2004

"Only a churl wouldn't cheer the author's final happiness; she paid up front for it, and she wants to be your Virgil to attaining the same, should Paris await you."
Journalist Gershman packs her bags and heads for France, chasing a dream as she runs at an angle. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ONE GOOD EGG by Suzy Becker
Released: May 7, 2013

"Tender and funny, this appealing modern love story is greatly enhanced by the author's drawings."
Following in the tradition of James Thurber and Jules Feiffer, best-selling author/illustrator Becker (Kids Make It Better: A Write-in, Draw-in Journal, 2010, etc.) combines droll illustrations with a lively narrative style in this chronicle of the high expectations and shattering disappointments on her journey to motherhood. Read full book review >