Search Results: "Sylvia Ann Hewlett"


BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: June 17, 1991

"Much can be learned from her compelling, well-documented study."
A searing critique of the American family, our corporate leaders and public officials. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 20, 1998

"A potent presentation that may energize legislators and policymakers to end the 'war' and reassess the needs of families. (Author tour)"
A powerful call for parents to organize and fight back against a society that pays lip service to family values, then abandons mothers and fathers to an economic and political swamp. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: April 1, 2001

"Interesting profiles, ho-hum analysis."
A by-now familiar study of accomplished, powerful women and their inability to combine high-octane careers with motherhood in the existing corporate culture. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SPINNING JENNY by Sylvia Ann McLain
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 19, 2017

"A strong, often poignant illustration of slavery's destructiveness."
McLain's character-driven debut historical novel blends a tale of ill-fated love with a scathing indictment of slavery. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A WATERMELON IN THE SUKKAH by Sylvia A. Rouss
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 1, 2013

"A mediocre, bland offering for the holiday shelf. (note) (Picture book. 4-6)"
A child's favorite fruit creates a challenge for his class when it comes time for the annual ritual of decorating the classroom's Sukkah, the traditional outdoor hut for the Jewish holiday of Sukkot. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FEELINGS by Sylvia Funston
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 1998

"Guaranteed to be a hit. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
paper 1-895688-81-7 If a dolphin looks like it is having fun, or a cat appears to enjoy torturing a mouse before a kill, is there any way humans can discern if the animals are experiencing emotions? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SONIA SOTOMAYOR by Sylvia Mendoza
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 25, 2017

"Definitely on a mission, but some sense of the woman beneath the robes comes through. (notes, bibliography) (Biography. 12-14)"
An analytical view of the personal and cultural values that make the Supreme Court's first Hispanic and third woman justice an admirable role model. Read full book review >