Search Results: "Sylvia Brownrigg"


BOOK REVIEW

TEN WOMEN WHO SHOOK THE WORLD by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 1, 2000

"Whimsy and wit float through these stories like fairy dust, and while the enchantment sometimes has a mechanical quality, mostly it can bring about wonder and delight."
Ten clever tales in a philosophical vein, often delicately surreal, from novelist Brownrigg (The Metaphysical Touch, 1999), who muses on the place of women in every capacity from makers of the world's wonders to givers of parties. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAGES FOR HER by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 1, 2017

"Brownrigg considers motherhood, romance, identity, and the changes brought by time in this tender, insightful novel."
Two women, former lovers, reconnect with each other and themselves in Brownrigg's sequel (which can be read independently) to her 2001 novel, Pages for You. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE DELIVERY ROOM by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 1, 2008

"A gifted writer delivers a classic North London novel (sober; domestic; emotionally intelligent; middle-class) enhanced by insight and tenderness."
A period of growth, change and tragedy in the life of a London psychotherapist, her family and clients is ably tracked and empathetically dissected. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

MORALITY TALE by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: May 15, 2008

"Slow plotting and an exhaustingly cerebral narrator muffle the impact of the author's interesting experiments with tone."
Emma Bovary wannabe ponders an alternative to her mundane domestic lifestyle in this dreamlike but grating modern fable. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAGES FOR YOU by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"A valentine that perfectly captures love's power to isolate the lovers from the rest of the world—and, in the end, from each other."
Brownrigg prunes back the overextended abstractions that weighed down The Metaphysical Touch (1999) to produce an affectingly slender love story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYVLIA LONG’S THUMBELINA by Sylvia Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"The illustrator has made a lush and vivid world for her Thumbelina to inhabit. (Fairy tale. 5-9)"
Long hews very closely to the Hans Christian Andersen tale, in which a woman longing for a child finds a tiny one in a flower grown from an enchanted barley seed given to her by a fairy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >