Search Results: "Sylvia Longmire"


BOOK REVIEW

BORDER INSECURITY by Sylvia Longmire
NON-FICTION
Released: April 22, 2014

"A compelling narrative that brings clarity to a subject shrouded in prejudice and obfuscation."
Throwing big money at the border with Mexico to build fences and buy high-tech gizmos isn't the way to achieve security, argues the author of Cartel: The Coming Invasion of Mexico's Drug War (2011). Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION
Released: Sept. 27, 2011

"One-stop shopping for basic knowledge about U.S.-Mexican narcotics diplomacy."
Overview of the war on drugs being fought without relief in Mexico and the United States. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FEELINGS by Sylvia Funston
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 1998

"Guaranteed to be a hit. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
paper 1-895688-81-7 If a dolphin looks like it is having fun, or a cat appears to enjoy torturing a mouse before a kill, is there any way humans can discern if the animals are experiencing emotions? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SONIA SOTOMAYOR by Sylvia Mendoza
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 25, 2017

"Definitely on a mission, but some sense of the woman beneath the robes comes through. (notes, bibliography) (Biography. 12-14)"
An analytical view of the personal and cultural values that make the Supreme Court's first Hispanic and third woman justice an admirable role model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION

"An inspirational, fascinating chronicle of a family's will to survive."
The Guggenheim's family story as a lesson in world history. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAGES FOR YOU by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"A valentine that perfectly captures love's power to isolate the lovers from the rest of the world—and, in the end, from each other."
Brownrigg prunes back the overextended abstractions that weighed down The Metaphysical Touch (1999) to produce an affectingly slender love story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE IN THE AIR OCEAN by Sylvia Foley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"Foley's talents may need a more ambitious approach."
A debut collection of nine interlocked stories chronicling an unhappy family's years abroad and at home. Read full book review >