Search Results: "Sylvia Majcher"


BOOK REVIEW

FANCY HAT by Sylvia Majcher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 24, 2013

"This gloomy girl's transformation to happy camper is worth embracing, silent or not. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
A young girl finds she can be happy without her newfound token of joy in an app that favors striking visuals over sound design or needless frills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYVLIA LONG’S THUMBELINA by Sylvia Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"The illustrator has made a lush and vivid world for her Thumbelina to inhabit. (Fairy tale. 5-9)"
Long hews very closely to the Hans Christian Andersen tale, in which a woman longing for a child finds a tiny one in a flower grown from an enchanted barley seed given to her by a fairy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FEELINGS by Sylvia Funston
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 1998

"Guaranteed to be a hit. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
paper 1-895688-81-7 If a dolphin looks like it is having fun, or a cat appears to enjoy torturing a mouse before a kill, is there any way humans can discern if the animals are experiencing emotions? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SONIA SOTOMAYOR by Sylvia Mendoza
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 25, 2017

"Definitely on a mission, but some sense of the woman beneath the robes comes through. (notes, bibliography) (Biography. 12-14)"
An analytical view of the personal and cultural values that make the Supreme Court's first Hispanic and third woman justice an admirable role model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE IN THE AIR OCEAN by Sylvia Foley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"Foley's talents may need a more ambitious approach."
A debut collection of nine interlocked stories chronicling an unhappy family's years abroad and at home. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAUTIFUL MIND by Sylvia Nasar
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Impressively researched and detailed, but still fails to shed much light on the mysteries of genius and insanity."
A biography about a mathematical genius who suffered from schizophrenia, miraculously recovered, and later received the Nobel Prize in 1994. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

NON-FICTION

"An inspirational, fascinating chronicle of a family's will to survive."
The Guggenheim's family story as a lesson in world history. Read full book review >