Search Results: "Sylvia Majcher"


BOOK REVIEW

FANCY HAT by Sylvia Majcher
CHILDREN'S
Released: Aug. 24, 2013

"This gloomy girl's transformation to happy camper is worth embracing, silent or not. (iPad storybook app. 4-10)"
A young girl finds she can be happy without her newfound token of joy in an app that favors striking visuals over sound design or needless frills. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYVLIA LONG’S THUMBELINA by Sylvia Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"The illustrator has made a lush and vivid world for her Thumbelina to inhabit. (Fairy tale. 5-9)"
Long hews very closely to the Hans Christian Andersen tale, in which a woman longing for a child finds a tiny one in a flower grown from an enchanted barley seed given to her by a fairy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FEELINGS by Sylvia Funston
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 1998

"Guaranteed to be a hit. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
paper 1-895688-81-7 If a dolphin looks like it is having fun, or a cat appears to enjoy torturing a mouse before a kill, is there any way humans can discern if the animals are experiencing emotions? Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SONIA SOTOMAYOR by Sylvia Mendoza
YOUNG ADULT
Released: April 25, 2017

"Definitely on a mission, but some sense of the woman beneath the robes comes through. (notes, bibliography) (Biography. 12-14)"
An analytical view of the personal and cultural values that make the Supreme Court's first Hispanic and third woman justice an admirable role model. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

A BEAUTIFUL MIND by Sylvia Nasar
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Impressively researched and detailed, but still fails to shed much light on the mysteries of genius and insanity."
A biography about a mathematical genius who suffered from schizophrenia, miraculously recovered, and later received the Nobel Prize in 1994. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

PAGES FOR YOU by Sylvia Brownrigg
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 1, 2001

"A valentine that perfectly captures love's power to isolate the lovers from the rest of the world—and, in the end, from each other."
Brownrigg prunes back the overextended abstractions that weighed down The Metaphysical Touch (1999) to produce an affectingly slender love story. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

LIFE IN THE AIR OCEAN by Sylvia Foley
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Feb. 1, 1999

"Foley's talents may need a more ambitious approach."
A debut collection of nine interlocked stories chronicling an unhappy family's years abroad and at home. Read full book review >