Search Results: "Sylvia Van Clief"


BOOK REVIEW

THAT’S WHAT FRIENDS ARE FOR by Florence Parry Heide
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2003

"That's what friends are for!' (Picture book. 3-8)"
Poor Theodore Elephant is hobbled—an injured leg means he can't meet his cousin at the edge of the forest. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE SURPRISE by Sylvia Van Ommen
ANIMALS
Released: April 1, 2007

"A feel-good tale in any language, bright in both mood and color. (Picture book. 5-7)"
In this modest, wordless, tongue-in-cheek episode (available since 2004 with a Spanish title), a sheep knits a cozy gift from its own wool. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE BIRTHDAY by Sylvia van Ommen
CHILDREN'S
Released: June 17, 2010

"Readers in search of whizbang animation and action may be disappointed, but the youngest readers will find this a satisfying picture book delivered digitally. (iPad storybook app. 1-4)"
A sweet and simple app for toddlers. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

JELLYBEANS by Sylvia Van Ommen
CHILDREN'S
Released: May 1, 2005

"The achievement cannot be overestimated—feather light treatment of the weightiest subject and all of it made charmingly comprehensible. (Picture book. 4-8)"
A small, framed line drawing of a rabbit receiving a text message hints at the gentle understatement within this small gem. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SHEEP AND GOAT by Marleen Westera
ANIMALS
Released: Nov. 1, 2006

"A great choice for young readers and an excellent read aloud. (Fiction. 7-10)"
Goat is talkative, impulsive, curious and full of energy, while Sheep tends to be quiet, sensible, pensive and sedentary, but the two have more in common than it initially appears. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

BLUE JAY GIRL by Sylvia Ross
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"An appealing window into a long-ago world. (Fiction. 8-11)"
Because her friends' parents think her dangerous, nine-year-old Blue Jay Girl tries to change her nature to that of a careful quail, but the tribal healer and her husband help her adopt careful ways without sacrificing her boldness. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

SYVLIA LONG’S THUMBELINA by Sylvia Long
CHILDREN'S
Released: April 1, 2010

"The illustrator has made a lush and vivid world for her Thumbelina to inhabit. (Fairy tale. 5-9)"
Long hews very closely to the Hans Christian Andersen tale, in which a woman longing for a child finds a tiny one in a flower grown from an enchanted barley seed given to her by a fairy. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

FOREST SINGER by Sylvia Sikundar
Released: Aug. 1, 1999

"The full-color illustrations deftly depict life in tropical Africa, the work of the villagers, and the wildlife that is part of this lush realm. (Picture book. 4-8)"
Pygmies (as they are called here, rather than Mbuti) love to sing, but the hero, Mabuti, has not been blessed with a beautiful singing voice. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

THE MENNYMS by Sylvia Waugh
FAMILY AND GROWING UP
Released: April 1, 1994

"There's plenty of material here for a sequel, a hope readers will surely embrace. (Fiction. 10+)"
Fans of The Borrowers or Sylvia Cassedy's Behind the Attic Wall have cause to celebrate this first novel about a family of lifesize rag dolls who reside modestly in an English neighborhood. Read full book review >

BOOK REVIEW

ANIMAL FEELINGS by Sylvia Funston
ANIMALS
Released: Dec. 1, 1998

"Guaranteed to be a hit. (index) (Nonfiction. 8-12)"
paper 1-895688-81-7 If a dolphin looks like it is having fun, or a cat appears to enjoy torturing a mouse before a kill, is there any way humans can discern if the animals are experiencing emotions? Read full book review >